We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Warm welcome and great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

You can't actually view the sea but it's a five minute walk away. The main shopping area and Mission Ranch are a 15min walk on opposite sides of the inn. This is a bit of a challenge after sunset as streets are unlit but that makes the stars more beautiful.
We prefer this intimate atmosphere with shared breakfast tables to the impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwordsPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    55
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
199
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This review is late, I know, but we were going through our pictures and I was reminded of what a great experience this B&B was. And I didn't even get to have breakfast, due to a super early departure.
What you need to know:
Worth it. Especially the room with attached bathroom. Love the no t.v in the room,rule, along with heated bathroom floors and nook to curl up and read
Hospitable: Tracy was amazing. And I can say that- my credit card was compromised and she didn't bat a lash. We were on route to Vegas, she took cash and called me to make sure we were all sorted out after we left- which was completely unnecessary as e had paid our due. Best phone call I have ever received in Fresno.
Clean: No worries. I am A-type and I couldn't find a speck of anything.
Comfort: beds - super comfy. Quiet. Free wine and cheese- do you need more? I am sure the breakfast would have blown my mind if I actually had the time to try it.

All the romance, excitement and mystique of Carmel is right here. Can't imagine staying anywhere else. Book it...promise- it is beyond what you think. And the short walk down to the beach or into charming downtown, is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights, and Margo and the staff couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a brand new, well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was included and served in the inn's lovely common rooms. The coffee was fantastic. If I every come back to Carmel, the Sea View Inn is my go-to place to stay.

Thank you, Margo.
From, Ann and Lily in Newburyport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PINest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a town of very quaint cute properties sea view inn fits right in...the property is very pretty both inside and out. Both the owner Tracy and all her staff are friendly welcoming and full of useful info..they cannot do enough for you. Our room no5 was right at the top of the house..it was very small but beautifully finished with a lovely en suite shower room. THe breakfasts are excellent and there is also complimentary daily cheese fruit and wine and plenty of sweets and chocolates around.

The inn is 10 mins walk from the main part of town, and Tracy supplies a torch for you to walk back as Carmel has no street lights, and 2 mins walk from the beach..but don't let the name fool you there is no proper sea view from the inn ..

It's not cheap at c $200 a night but Carmel is not a cheap town and well worth a visit

Room Tip: A room on 1st floor may be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stay at sea view inn was one of the best experiences ever! The rooms are comfortable and carefully decorated! The breakfast was perfect!

The owner and her employees were perfect to us!

I do recommend this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a road trip to California and the Sea view Inn was one of our stops. Lovely old house well located for carmel centre and the beach which are both a pleasant stroll away. Margot took great care of us during the morning mothering us over breakfast and giving us advice and both Kate and Mary did the same in the evenings. The cheese and wine every evening is a great idea and helps everyone to get to know each
other. Carmel is beautiful and a great base for the surrounding area. Monterey and Point Lobos are a must. Kate thank you for recommending The flying fish restaurant. The meal was stunning and Mary thank you for Terry's room is was amazing and we had such a great time with the other couple. This is a Lovely old Inn and a very pretty place

Room Tip: Room number 6 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostsoul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did a lot of research for our trip to California and were excited about our upcoming stay here. We were en route from our B&B in Monterey to this one when we got a phone call telling us they overbooked and we could only have one of our two nights. The innkeeper was very nice to offer to help us find accommodations for the second night - however, having to move from one spot to another would have been too much of an inconvenience for us. Was disappointing that things could get overbooked when it's such a small spot. Too bad really... Took an hour+ of our vacation to scramble and try to find another inn/B&B.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing