We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations”
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights, and Margo and the staff couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a brand new, well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was included and served in the inn's lovely common rooms. The coffee was fantastic. If I every come back to Carmel, the Sea View Inn is my go-to place to stay.

Thank you, Margo.
From, Ann and Lily in Newburyport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a town of very quaint cute properties sea view inn fits right in...the property is very pretty both inside and out. Both the owner Tracy and all her staff are friendly welcoming and full of useful info..they cannot do enough for you. Our room no5 was right at the top of the house..it was very small but beautifully finished with a lovely en suite shower room. THe breakfasts are excellent and there is also complimentary daily cheese fruit and wine and plenty of sweets and chocolates around.

The inn is 10 mins walk from the main part of town, and Tracy supplies a torch for you to walk back as Carmel has no street lights, and 2 mins walk from the beach..but don't let the name fool you there is no proper sea view from the inn ..

It's not cheap at c $200 a night but Carmel is not a cheap town and well worth a visit

Room Tip: A room on 1st floor may be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stay at sea view inn was one of the best experiences ever! The rooms are comfortable and carefully decorated! The breakfast was perfect!

The owner and her employees were perfect to us!

I do recommend this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danjaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a road trip to California and the Sea view Inn was one of our stops. Lovely old house well located for carmel centre and the beach which are both a pleasant stroll away. Margot took great care of us during the morning mothering us over breakfast and giving us advice and both Kate and Mary did the same in the evenings. The cheese and wine every evening is a great idea and helps everyone to get to know each
other. Carmel is beautiful and a great base for the surrounding area. Monterey and Point Lobos are a must. Kate thank you for recommending The flying fish restaurant. The meal was stunning and Mary thank you for Terry's room is was amazing and we had such a great time with the other couple. This is a Lovely old Inn and a very pretty place

Room Tip: Room number 6 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostsoul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did a lot of research for our trip to California and were excited about our upcoming stay here. We were en route from our B&B in Monterey to this one when we got a phone call telling us they overbooked and we could only have one of our two nights. The innkeeper was very nice to offer to help us find accommodations for the second night - however, having to move from one spot to another would have been too much of an inconvenience for us. Was disappointing that things could get overbooked when it's such a small spot. Too bad really... Took an hour+ of our vacation to scramble and try to find another inn/B&B.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This inn, as others have said, is a real find. The location is perfect for walking to the beach or to town. The breakfast was more than adequate, and the people. both running the inn and staying at the inn, made for a great stay.
The only drawback, if you want to consider it one, are that the rooms on the third floor are somewhat hard to reach. Do not bring your suitcase to the third floor. The staircase from the downstairs to the second floor is normal, while the one to the third floor is narrow. This being an old house, the rooms on the third floor follow the contours of the roof. It would not be smart to jump up from the bed, while the rest of the room has normal ceilings. The rooms and the bathrooms are more than comfortable, and overall, it is a fine inn.

Room Tip: The shape of the rooms on the second floor are superior to the third. Additionally, the canopy beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This B&B is a real find. A five minute walk from Carmel and two minutes from a gorgeous white sand beach, it's set on a very peaceful and quiet road. I stayed in one of the top floor rooms - the bathroom was great (newly fitted I think) and the bed very comfy. Everything is immaculately clean. There's a small window which you can just about glimpse the sea through. Breakfasts are simple and plentiful. Margot is a first class host and keeps your cup and plate full! There's a beautifully furnished lounge with an open fire if you feel like going back early after dinner. I would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $194 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing