We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Carmel”
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Carmel”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here in July 2011 with family. Lovely place to stay close to shops/restaurants and in a quiet area of town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamUK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    56
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
203
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Or
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great location only a 10 minute walk to Ocean avenue - the main drag - and only 5 minutes to the ocean itself and great views. This is a three story Carmel cottage, with the living room, eating area, kitchen on the main floor, and the rooms above. We were on the third floor in room 5. Quite small with low sloped ceiling - a bit too low for our 6-2 bodies - but we managed. Small room to be sure - but charming in the seaside Carmel fashion. The inn is clean and well kept - and the owner and helping staff are friendly, informative and fun. Breakast is nothing special - cold cereals, and hard boiled eggs, although you can ask for soft boiled and a toasted bagel. Fresh fruit bowl, breakfast bread and strong great coffee accompany this meal. Stairs are quite narrow between the second and thrid floor. We think sound separation is good - but there were only 1 or two other rooms in use when we were there. One odd thing - we asked for non-feather pillows - and were told the ones in the room were not feather. They were in fact feather and had allergies as a result. Not sure what that was bout. But overall - this is a charming inn with good staff and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a bit small and the bathroom is cramped as well - especially at the toilet. Tall people m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gingertaff
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

we arrived at the Sea View inn late at night and were met with a hugely friendly welcome form the owners / managers. This is a them which runs throughout this review - the service was very warm and friendly, and the accommodation was quaint yet slightly more expensive for what we got than other accommodation we went to on our trip (value for money was much better in Santa Cruz for example)

The room was very clean but small, and the main concern we had was with the extensive work going on the property and specifically the property next door which was quite noisy early in the morning - once this is completed, I will still recommend this property but would recommend trying to negotiate on price a little

Also take a torch to get you to restaurants in Carmel centre as there are no street lights!

Room Tip: Ohotos online are slightly generous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingertaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our stay @ Sea View Inn was too short. Its 2 block from beach location is ideal for evening strolls to see the terrific sunsets. Enjoyed the wine and cheese, which is a great way to meet the other guests. The walk to restaurants isnt far and worth it to be removed from the traffic and congestion, but can still walk from after a glass or two of wine. Room 9 was fine and will be even better when the bathroom is remodeled as other bathrooms have been. Found the staff very welcoming and helpful with dinner reservation and suggestions.

Room Tip: Some bathrooms have been remodeled and are very nice. I wouldn't recommend room 8 as bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lovely bandb near the beach in a quite Carmel neighborhood. Although our room was teensy tiny the house is the lovely and the service and breakfast superb. Very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you've come for a short visit and want to feel like a local in Carmel, the sea view inn is for you. It is in the middle of a neighborhood, only 2 blocks from the beach, and 6 blocks south of the main street in Carmel, Ocean Ave. most wonderful hostesses who serve tea, wine & cheese, breakfast etc. and are very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crsmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I hope I find reason to be in the area in the future so I can stay here again. Sea View Inn is in a superb location two blocks from the ocean in a quiet neighborhood. The decor and amenities are first-rate, and the service is very welcoming. As a woman traveling alone, I felt completely safe and enjoyed the coziness of one of the smaller bedrooms. Loved the afternoon tea and evening wine and cheese as well as the ample and tasty breakfast. I am a lodging proprietor myself and know what it takes to exceed expectations for creating an inviting haven. Sea View Inn does that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahSAshfordWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing