We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant Place; Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place; Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

As far as B&B's go in the Carmel area, this one is about 5 blocks from the heart of the business district and a little further from the beach. Having said that it is very quiet and a little exercise was good. The accommodations were excellent and the staff very helpful. I would return in the future.

Room Tip: All are great; two couples or family fit nicely in 2br units; and one couple fits in all the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    97
    26
    6
    10
See reviews for
112
317
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed at this Inn many times and always enjoy the visit. This time the staff helped my boyfriend order flowers for me for Valentine's Day so they were right at our door that morning! The breakfast is great and the staff is always so helpful with advice on restaurants and things to do. Really enjoyed the large bathtub in our room this time and the wonderful fireplace. Absolutely recommend this as a great place to stay while in Carmel!

Room Tip: Love the two bedroom suites when traveling with a group but this time had the King Studio which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This property was great. Fantastic location, super cute, great room. Amazing breakfast. Very friendly people. Champagne that I pre-ordered was Chandon and I was only charged $25. Overall absolutely fantastic time. The only one slight thing that I would mention is the the quilt bedding smelled a little musty. But that didn't really bother us! Everything else more than made up for it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent two nights here after a change of plans and booked only a few days before arrival using Trip Advisor reviews as the recommendation. It was lovely on arrival to find our room had been upgraded. Our two bedroom unit was large and spacious with two gorgeous bathrooms. The unit was well equipped and immaculately clean.

From the generous afternoon teas to the lovely breakfast in the main building, it was a warm and inviting environment. The host was really friendly and helpful.

The Inn offers everything from beach towels to balls for your dog and strollers! Whilst we didn't have a dog (just two kids) with us, they loved petting the canine guests and when we left, the kids were given a ball to bring home to their dog!

Just a lovely place to stay and enjoy the sights, restaurants and shopping of Carmel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our first stay in Carmel with a dog and this Inn was the highest rated dog friendly inn in Carmel. We were very impressed! Room was large and spotlessly clean, no chipped paint or worn carpets. Nice fireplace, comfy living room, fabulous large bath with that heavenly 2 person spa tub and a great shower. The grounds were well kept, the breakfast was healthy and also indulgent if you wanted to go that way, and the dog amenities were great! Cover for the bed, dog strollers, dog washing station with dog "chamoises," treats, potty spot and bags provided, etc. Loved this list we were given of off leash walking areas and dog friendly restaurants. The location was just a few blocks from Ocean, and it was a short walk down 4th St to a great beach access point. We usually stay at the Pine Inn (sans dog) but we may just switch to this regularly as it is so quiet and spacious by comparison. My only tiny complaint was one front desk person who was quick to make a judgment about our dog based on her breed (and she was actually mistaken about which dog did what), and quick to feed her treats without asking us (she also made critical judgements about guests based on where they come from). Another office person was a little prickly...couldn't seem to reply to anything without a slightly contrary statement, but even both of those ladies were very helpful and provided good service. The 3rd person we deal with was perfect! Great housekeeping service. Pretty place. You'll like it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no one above or below, which we chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barleytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Now, I know that's not a reason to stay at a B&B, but OMG, they were so good and served every morning for breakfast.....

We stayed at this lovely B&B in late October 2013 and had a very enjoyable visit. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. There is a common room in the main building where they serve breakfast (and treats throughout the day) and we had breakfast here both mornings we stayed. We are from Canada (Toronto area) and had great conversations with the staff about entertainment, tv programs, weather and cultural differences. We also met some nice couples from San Francisco that were staying here

The staff were also great at recommending things to do, and places to eat in the area and took their suggestions

The accommodations themselves are clean and roomy. We had a 2 bedroom unit with a sitting area with fireplace. The B&B is sitting at a bottom of a hill and you must walk up the hill to get to the downtown area which is only 5ish minutes away.....If you have mobility issues, this may be an issue.

No need to look at any other place in Carmel.... Just stay here !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our second stay at the inn, and we look forward to many more in the future. The delicious breakfasts, charming rooms, beautiful plants, and good location give the place immense appeal. Best of all, Amy made us feel welcome and helped us with dinner reservations, airline check-in, driving directions, and ideas for things to do. She is the best!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Property: Carmel Country Inn
Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing