We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“totally relaxing & great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“totally relaxing & great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Carmel Country Inn is ideally located just blocks from Carmel's main street, Ocean Avenue. My husband and I recently stayed there for six nights in the "Treetop" room. It had a king bed, a fireplace and a jacuzzi, along with a refrigerator. It was so quiet and the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast choices included miniature quiches and to-die-for breakfast rolls. The staff is friendly and very informative of where to go and what to see, etc. We would definitely return and hated to leave!

Room Tip: Be sure you can manage stairs if you choose the "Treetop" or "Treehouse" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSchmidt243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    96
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
105
303
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. One in a Queen room and one that had a separate lounge area. Both were a good size abd very clean. The location was very close to the shops and some very good restaurants. Close to the 17 mile drive around the golf courses and some of the coast line which was well worth doing. Breakfast was included which was an excellent start to the day. We thought the tariff was a little on the high side but its in a good area and we felt very safe.
Its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Mar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our second stop on our honeymoon. We had a late start and so had to call for a late check-in, which was no problem. They left our key and directions for us and so our room was easy to find and ready to go when we arrived. We had a nice sitting room with a fireplace, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom and tub were great. The heater in the bathroom was nice except it got a little to hot to stand right in front of while it was blowing.
Breakfast the the next morning was very nice and the grounds are lovely. We sat outside on the porch to enjoy the garden atmosphere. Without even asking, because of our late arrival, they offered us to use the room as long as we wanted that day since no one was going to be using it after us and it could just be cleaned the next day. That was such a kind offer. We didn't take them up on the offer since we had electric bikes we wanted to ride and had our next stop to get to after that. They were kind enough to let us leave the car in the parking lot (and it is a small lot) while we were riding our bikes for the afternoon. The lady at the desk was helpful in showing us a good scenic route to ride - which was stunningly beautiful. We came back, grabbed some yummy cookies before taking off. We would totally stay there again and recommend this place.
We also had a room that was discounted due to construction noise, but for the time we were there, we never heard any. I'm not sure if they weren't working, or maybe the noisy jobs had been completed, but it was no problem for us on that day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my dog in room 11, a king suite. It was up several short flights of stairs, too many for me. The rooms were a mixed bag: the bathroom was elegant and had clearly been recently remodeled. It included a giant jetted bathtub, separate shower, cute little bench, a plethora of towels. My only complaint was that the shower floor was a bit slippery and there was no grab bar and no shower mat. I fully understand not wanting to put an ugly rubber mat in that beautiful bathroom, still I think the shower was dangerous.
The bedroom barely had room for the king bed, but the bed was extremely comfortable and afforded a wonderful nights sleep. There was occasional noise from the front of the building, but my bedroom was in the back and I simply shut the door for quiet. The bedding was upscale, very attractive.
The living room was furnished with an army green love seat, club chair and. carpet. there was a gas fireplace, tv. The furniture was comfortable, and I covered up the love seat with a sheet so the dog could sit with me, so dinginess wasn't much of a concern.
Wifi is complementary; a printed info sheet in my room said there was no password required. The first night I couldn't get my iPad to work and the office closes at 8 pm. The next morning I asked my neighbor, owner of two lively golden retrievers, about wifi and he gave me the password. When I told the office staff I learned that I had "an old brochure".
In general, the place was very nice: staff were polite, friendly and responsive to requests, the breakfast and other food was good, and plentiful, and the rooms were clean. Provisions for dogs were superb and seemed to be designed by someone who had traveled with dogs and knew the drill. Treats are nice, but better are a strip of grass designated for dogs, a poop bag dispenser and garbage can, a hose and towels for after beach clean up.
I think I did not emphasize that I wanted few stairs when I made the reservation, so I am to blame for my sore legs.
I would recommend room 11 at the Carmel Country Inn to anyone who does not have trouble climbing stairs and is not worried about slipping in the shower.

.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeeter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our inn.

Several of our accommodations are located on ground level, we just need know know in advance if guests would prefer a ground floor rooms. Each room has a description on our website as to their location, as well as on the confirmation letters we send each reservation.

The owner is an award winning master builder of custom homes in Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. He would never use a product that was unsafe. We do have shower mats available for those guest who would request them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Rooms were absolutely beautiful and comfortable. Very inviting. Breakfast is incredible and worth the stay!

The staff is very helpful and pleasant. This is one of the most enjoyable hotels I've ever had the pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Carmel is a beautiful, cozy, colorful town and Carmel Country Inn fits perfectly. Outside there were colorful flowers and patio tables for sitting and enjoying the grounds. The office offered games, books, movies, maps, and lots of helpful suggestions of where to eat and where to go to take in the beauty of Carmel. There was a lovely breakfast with quiche, fresh fruit, cereals and granola, yogurts, and pastries, and snacks and drinks were available throughout the day. Our room was spacious and clean, tastefully decorated, and had a fabulous tv, fireplace, balcony, jacuzzi tub, and separate extra large shower. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree Top room which is one of the Luxury King Studios. The room had a large tv, ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations since this was our first trip to Carmel. The location was perfectly situated and made walks to downtown simple. The set up with the snacks in the kitchen gave the feeling of being home. The deluxe king suite was wonderful and we will definitely ask for the same room. Our dog truly enjoyed the trip with us, since he received his treats in the kitchen and the staff treated him so well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Property: Carmel Country Inn
Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing