We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to get away to relax or play, Honeymoon or 40th anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to get away to relax or play, Honeymoon or 40th anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My Wife and I looked at most of the available nice places to stay in Carmel for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and chose Carmel Country Inn. We were very glad we did. From the time we checked in to time we left (3days)it was a wonderful experiance . We stayed in one of the two treetop rooms. These rooms had spa tub important to me , fireplace more important to wife, kingsize bed , comfortable balcony that we used a lot, and all the amenities we needed including small refrigerator. The room was nicely set up for us by staff spa/tub essentials, truffles and bottle of very nice wine picked by staff complete with two Carmel Country Inn wine glasses (these are extras that I purchased for my wife )
Breakfast was very nice as I was able to go down to their breakfast room and have a quiet meal read the paper and relax, letting my wife sleep an do her thing. After Breakfast I was able to make a nice tray with great pastries ,fruits , bagels coffee to take up to room for my wife ( the staff will bring up breakfast in bed if you wish but it was a nice to have the choice to make the tray special for my wife. The Inn is about a 5 MIN walk to town allowing us to not have to drive and try to park in town, also on the day you check out you can leave your packed car till 3pm in their parking lot , time for more shopping or a nice lunch.
The staff were great and very laid back, they were very good at pointing out places to eat or go putting them in handout maps , making sure you got extra towels, coffee or snacks that were in breakfast room. We enjoyed the room , the staff ( Ann, Dolores, Nancy and in particular a very nice young lady named Rachael)
When we think about our 41st Ann. or just another trip to Carmel we will stay at the carmel country inn

Rose Greg Hornnes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    94
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
104
301
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from the beginning. Great service and ample breakfast choices. We had the treehouse king room. It was so quiet and when we arrived we received champagne and chocolates which was awesome. It is close to the beach and downtown. Watched a video on the huge TV I our room. The balcony was lovely too.

Room Tip: Treehouse room is big and has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently with our 4-legged traveling companion (our Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Abby), and were very pleased with our decision to stay at this charming inn. It was just what we needed--a friendly, comfortable place that made us feel right at home.

We stayed in room 12 which is a spacious King Suite. Our accommodation consisted of a large living room with a fireplace, two-seater couch, armchair, coffee table, TV, coffee maker, and a wooden cabinet with a refrigerator inside it. The bedroom had a comfortable king-sized bed, plenty of closet space, and a small flat-screen TV. The bathroom was very large with a fabulous whirlpool tub, a separate glass-enclosed shower, ample counter space, and plenty of soft, fluffy towels. Overall the furnishings were tasteful and suited the country-type ambiance of the inn. Even though this place is very popular with people traveling with their dogs, you wouldn't know that dogs had stayed here. It's spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

The breakfasts were great and offered a wide variety of options, ranging from fresh fruit salad (strawberries, grapes, blueberries) and yogurts to pastries, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, cereals, and quiches. I also liked that they had Peet's Coffee--regular and decaf. You have the option of eating breakfast in the cozy breakfast room or on the patio, or taking a tray back to your room.

The inn is on a quiet street, about a 10 minute walk to the beach or a 5 minute walk to the center of town. There is off-street parking in a courtyard. Overall, we loved our stay here, and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this charming, dog-friendly inn again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Even if you are not traveling with your pet, you will like this place because it is quiet, comfortable and close to downtown. It is walking distance to the beach.
We loved the place because they made our dogs feel really welcome. They even have a hose and towels to rinse your dogs after they have been to the beach! Carmel is a wonderful place to vacation with your pet because there are so many off leash parks, state parks and, of course, the beach. Many of the restaurants have outdoor seating that allows pets, but the inn will give you a list of recommended pet sitters who will come and watch your dog(s) in your room for you while you dine out alone! This gave us the best of both worlds - we could take our dogs with us on vacation but had the freedom to go out without them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have spent Christmas in this lovely Inn and it was a true treat. Cozy, tasteful and friendly. Delicious breakfast with lots of options, great location - every morning sunrise had a rainbow. We are avid animal lovers but unfortunately allergic to dog/cat hair but it wasn't a problem at all in this pet friendly Inn because they keep it spotlessly clean. Wonderful experience all around. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetrushkaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Our travelling party of us two from London and two friends from Florida found this place online and thought the accommodation offered would suit our purpose - but we didn't expect such a lovely place! It is tucked away off the main drag but it's a pleasant walk both to the beach and to the town centre. The breakfast is lovely and afternoon tea and snacks were available from 4 to 8 pm each day. Everyone was very pleasant and we really enjoyed our stay - it's where we will stay if we return to Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank condenastbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They really understand their guests and make you feel so welcomed and special. This place is a real charm within easy walking distant to the main districts and beaches of Carmel, note: we live in San Francisco and are use to walking.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely amenities. The style is country, not my usual taste but well suited. Very comfortable beds and the updated bathrooms really make it a hit.
The breakfast offers so many lovely pastries as well as quiche and oatmeal, fruits and breads, etc. (unfortunately the spinach quiche lacked a bit of flavor).
The breakfast room welcomes your dogs and they appreciate it, along with the dog biscuits available. You can also fill a tray to take back to your room.
A DVD library is available and they can also provide wine and cheese platters, a clam bake basket and more.
We opted for the suite, separate living room area and bedroom, very comfortable. We also had a dedicated parking space right in front of our room.
Definitely worth looking into for your next stay.

Room Tip: The suite is very comfortable if you plan on spending time in the room and has the dedicated parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLisoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Property: Carmel Country Inn
Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing