We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely 2 bed 2 bath suite perfect for 2 couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 bed 2 bath suite perfect for 2 couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Our travelling party of us two from London and two friends from Florida found this place online and thought the accommodation offered would suit our purpose - but we didn't expect such a lovely place! It is tucked away off the main drag but it's a pleasant walk both to the beach and to the town centre. The breakfast is lovely and afternoon tea and snacks were available from 4 to 8 pm each day. Everyone was very pleasant and we really enjoyed our stay - it's where we will stay if we return to Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank condenastbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    97
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
107
308
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They really understand their guests and make you feel so welcomed and special. This place is a real charm within easy walking distant to the main districts and beaches of Carmel, note: we live in San Francisco and are use to walking.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely amenities. The style is country, not my usual taste but well suited. Very comfortable beds and the updated bathrooms really make it a hit.
The breakfast offers so many lovely pastries as well as quiche and oatmeal, fruits and breads, etc. (unfortunately the spinach quiche lacked a bit of flavor).
The breakfast room welcomes your dogs and they appreciate it, along with the dog biscuits available. You can also fill a tray to take back to your room.
A DVD library is available and they can also provide wine and cheese platters, a clam bake basket and more.
We opted for the suite, separate living room area and bedroom, very comfortable. We also had a dedicated parking space right in front of our room.
Definitely worth looking into for your next stay.

Room Tip: The suite is very comfortable if you plan on spending time in the room and has the dedicated parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLisoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Carmel Country Inn for Christmas and it is a great place to stay! We took our dog Hank with us and they treated all 3 of us wonderfully! The room was comfortable and clean and charming. We had quiche for beakfast and snacks in the afternoon. The staff is wonderful and the owner is kind and helpful. Hank was given a treat every time he went into the lobby to visit. The location is wonderful. You can walk to the shops downtown and you can walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not only did we feel like we were family upon picking up our keys at the Carmel Country Inn, but we adopted several pets that other families had brought. Being close to the beach made for some early morning and late evening beach photos. Everyone asked us where we were at in the photos and we told them just down the street from our new home for the weekend.
It was the first time in years I sat in a room and didn't bother turning on the TV. It was simply an escape from one world while having access to another. As some say, "There's a time and a place" and I now know any time and that's the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a very friendly, pleasant establishment. My friend and I stayed in the 2 bed, 2 bath suite which worked out very well. Theres a good selection of the help yourself breakfast with beverages and snacks on tap all day. I do feel it is a little expensive for what you get, although our suite worked for us it was in need of some refurbishment, looking a little tired. Not right in the heart of things but this made it more special and it only took a few minutes to get into Carmel itself. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: The 2 bed, 2 bath suite is ideal for 2 couples or 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Inn is very friendly, the nice selection for breakfast along with the great cookies and snacks available through out the day is a nice treat. The location is very close to things, a few minutes walking to town along with a nice longer walk to the beach. The accommodations are comfortable with fireplace.
We like the 2 bath, 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSLBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a traditional older Carmel Bed and Breakfast that has been nicely upgraded. We stayed in the "Tree House" room. It was a great second story room, very private with a balcony and a Jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were very nice and there was fresh fruit, homemade cookies and coffee/tea available until 11 at night. The inn is a couple of block from Ocean Ave. Of course the big plus is that the Inn is extremely pet friendly. Bring your dogs. I want to note that our room had not pet odor at all. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms very clean--not the case for all "pet friendly" hotels. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Property: Carmel Country Inn
Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing