We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Upscale Dog Friendly B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Upscale Dog Friendly B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a traditional older Carmel Bed and Breakfast that has been nicely upgraded. We stayed in the "Tree House" room. It was a great second story room, very private with a balcony and a Jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were very nice and there was fresh fruit, homemade cookies and coffee/tea available until 11 at night. The inn is a couple of block from Ocean Ave. Of course the big plus is that the Inn is extremely pet friendly. Bring your dogs. I want to note that our room had not pet odor at all. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms very clean--not the case for all "pet friendly" hotels. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    97
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
107
308
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a delightful discovery! My husband took me to Carmel for my birthday weekend and let me choose the place. I wanted to take our dog, so I searched for one that accepted pets since Carmel is so dog-friendly. Well, the innkeepers were so delightful I felt like I was staying with family and, thanks to all the friendly dogs, we got to know the other guests and just had a wonderful time. Can't wait for our next visit. And, did I say the rooms were extra cozy, big, clean and comfy? Loved the pumpkin bread and friendly, delicious breakfast. Short walk into Carmel (and perfectly located for the AT&T golf tournament).

Room Tip: There are two 2-bedroom suites (one with 2 baths and one with a single bath. Our room (#11 was upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to the Carmel Country Inn to vacation a bit before going into SF. We were in Room 5 which was spacious enough for us, just a very big bedroom with a couple of chairs and a really nice fireplace. We overlooked the parking lot.

We arrived late but the staff was accommodating; someone showed us to our room even though they left a key, and left cookies for us as snacks.

Parking is free, and seems that everyone was courteous about giving room to park.

The next morning we were great by "the gals and the cat" and a nice breakfast. The quiche is good but previously made. Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful and comes from a local bakery in town. Good coffee from Peets.

Close to town, which is a really nice way to spend the afternoon. Beach and ocena is supposed to be a couple blocks away also. Careful walking at night since streets are narrow and dark in this section of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second stay at the Carmel Country Inn. This time I had room 3, on the first floor. It's a 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite, (up 5 steps). The living room is smaller than the 2 bed, 2 bath suite. Rooms are dark, so you may want to bring a light if you are working on something that requires good lighting. The staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to help.
Parking is free, and can be tight if the inn is full.
Lots of pets.
Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful. Good coffee from Peets.
Only complaint, no grab bar in the tub/shower, it had a high side to get in and out of shower.

Room Tip: Room 3 is up a few steps, right off the parking lot. If stairs aren't an issue, room 8 is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very, very nice place. Staff, Breakfast and other items available through-out the day were all excellent.
Had room #10 separate little 'cottage' next door to main house. The room, suite actually was terrific - very comfortable.

Prettty good location to 'town'. A little far from beach. Convient to Montery Aquarium and Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Not cheap, but thought the Suite (#10) was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Carmel Country Inn was the perfect place to stay for our anniversary. Everyone there was beyond accommodating and so nice. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were served every day in the kitchen/front room - a great bed and breakfast touch for more of a motel style place. It is a few blocks off of Ocean Avenue, but it actually made it feel like more of a cozy retreat than a tourist trap. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Luxury King Studio for a newer room and your own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First of all, let me say that this is not a bad review. It's just that I've never been a "Bed and Breakfast" kind of guy and the Carmel Country Inn wasn't able to change my perspective.

The reviews, photos and the "dog friendly" mantle made me give this a try.

The staff was welcoming and friendly, to both humans and doggy.

The room (#5), however, was not quite what was expected. Large, yes, with a fireplace yes, but also with a dingy/stained carpet, old fashioned furniture, bad lighting, and no real color or artwork. Why carpet in a pet friendly room? Also, there was nothing in the room for your pet. No bed, water bowl, etc. A missing touch for sure. The large bathroom had a great, 2 person, soaking tub, but was also somewhat unfinished from, what appeared to be, a remodel. No baseboards and ill-fitting ceiling lights. The tub sprayer was also broken and would leak onto the floor if not put into the tub before filling.

The overall property is quite small. Basically a parking lot. It sits on, what seems to be, a quiet street, that is really rather busy and noisy.

Breakfast was "continental-like." Pastries, oatmeal, fruit, etc. There was some quiche available to microwave, if desired. Peets coffee was a plus. Afternoon snacks were offered, consisting mainly of cookies and bar-mix.

Now, don't get me wrong, this place has it's charm and the staff tries hard to please and it's an easy walk to downtown and to the ocean.

Now, If only the room would have been as cozy as the lobby, I might have changed my mind about this bed & breakfast thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Property: Carmel Country Inn
Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing