We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$266
$180
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$422
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$204
$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $548/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$622
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $530/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
498
106
27
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
106
27
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichecookiespastriesluxury kingtrail mixwhirlpool tubbedroom suitebreakfast roomfew blocksan easy walkquiet neighborhoodbreakfast was deliciousa wonderful stayhome away from homeprivate balconycoffee makerocean avenue
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 649 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to the Carmel Country Inn to vacation a bit before going into SF. We were in Room 5 which was spacious enough for us, just a very big bedroom with a couple of chairs and a really nice fireplace. We overlooked the parking lot.

We arrived late but the staff was accommodating; someone showed us to our room even though they left a key, and left cookies for us as snacks.

Parking is free, and seems that everyone was courteous about giving room to park.

The next morning we were great by "the gals and the cat" and a nice breakfast. The quiche is good but previously made. Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful and comes from a local bakery in town. Good coffee from Peets.

Close to town, which is a really nice way to spend the afternoon. Beach and ocena is supposed to be a couple blocks away also. Careful walking at night since streets are narrow and dark in this section of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second stay at the Carmel Country Inn. This time I had room 3, on the first floor. It's a 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite, (up 5 steps). The living room is smaller than the 2 bed, 2 bath suite. Rooms are dark, so you may want to bring a light if you are working on something that requires good lighting. The staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to help.
Parking is free, and can be tight if the inn is full.
Lots of pets.
Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful. Good coffee from Peets.
Only complaint, no grab bar in the tub/shower, it had a high side to get in and out of shower.

Room Tip: Room 3 is up a few steps, right off the parking lot. If stairs aren't an issue, room 8 is a good choice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very, very nice place. Staff, Breakfast and other items available through-out the day were all excellent.
Had room #10 separate little 'cottage' next door to main house. The room, suite actually was terrific - very comfortable.

Prettty good location to 'town'. A little far from beach. Convient to Montery Aquarium and Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Not cheap, but thought the Suite (#10) was worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Carmel Country Inn was the perfect place to stay for our anniversary. Everyone there was beyond accommodating and so nice. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were served every day in the kitchen/front room - a great bed and breakfast touch for more of a motel style place. It is a few blocks off of Ocean Avenue, but it actually made it feel like more of a cozy retreat than a tourist trap. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Luxury King Studio for a newer room and your own private balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First of all, let me say that this is not a bad review. It's just that I've never been a "Bed and Breakfast" kind of guy and the Carmel Country Inn wasn't able to change my perspective.

The reviews, photos and the "dog friendly" mantle made me give this a try.

The staff was welcoming and friendly, to both humans and doggy.

The room (#5), however, was not quite what was expected. Large, yes, with a fireplace yes, but also with a dingy/stained carpet, old fashioned furniture, bad lighting, and no real color or artwork. Why carpet in a pet friendly room? Also, there was nothing in the room for your pet. No bed, water bowl, etc. A missing touch for sure. The large bathroom had a great, 2 person, soaking tub, but was also somewhat unfinished from, what appeared to be, a remodel. No baseboards and ill-fitting ceiling lights. The tub sprayer was also broken and would leak onto the floor if not put into the tub before filling.

The overall property is quite small. Basically a parking lot. It sits on, what seems to be, a quiet street, that is really rather busy and noisy.

Breakfast was "continental-like." Pastries, oatmeal, fruit, etc. There was some quiche available to microwave, if desired. Peets coffee was a plus. Afternoon snacks were offered, consisting mainly of cookies and bar-mix.

Now, don't get me wrong, this place has it's charm and the staff tries hard to please and it's an easy walk to downtown and to the ocean.

Now, If only the room would have been as cozy as the lobby, I might have changed my mind about this bed & breakfast thing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews