We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries”

Patisserie Boissiere
Ranked #22 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A relaxing and comforting venue modeled after a European chateau where tables are thoughtfully spaced and fresh flowers, fireplace, candles and soothing musical notes are integral part of the dining experience. The ambience sets the tone for French country food served with a great deal of care for detail, and pastries baked daily on premises. Dining room is available for private dinner parties.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've been there every time we are in the area. The pastries are as close to the ones in Europe as you can get. I don't like to eat in the restaurant. I find it a bit stuffy. I always buy the pastries to go. Then I buy my coffee at Carmel Coffee and Cocoa Bar which is around the corner and in the Carmel Plaza. Then I can have my coffee and pastries outside in the plaza.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    107
    18
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had never been to Carmel before and while strolling around, we saw this restaurant. After checking out the menu, we booked a table for that evening. We were not disappointed! Linens and candlelight...lovely service. I had Coquilles St. Jacques filled with huge scallops and shrimp. My husband had grilled shrimp and pasta which he enjoyed. The owner personally came by each table to chat...it has been a restaurant for years and is still popular so they are definitely doing something correct. We totally enjoyed our evening there. Thanks!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank svh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Food average”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The location, service and overall setup of the restaurant was really good. Wine list was also good, but the food was just average. Menu had very little choices. Given all the choices in carmel, I would not go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Carmel Desserts”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Patisserie Boissiere has excellent desserts and you can't miss them as you walk through the front door. I had a cup of soup, hot tea and a slice of chocolate cake that was so good. The menu consists of full meals, but this was just a snack.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carmel's Secret”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Patisserie, as we locals call it, has the best combination of good food, excellent service and casually elegant ambience. Whether dressed in jeans or smart attire, you are always treated with respect. White table cloths, fresh flowers and gentle candlelight contribute to a quiet atmosphere where conversations can be heard and enjoyed. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy I, Owner at Patisserie Boissiere, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello Cindy,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

Magdy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Boissiere also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Patisserie Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing