We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a touristy restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patisserie Boissiere

Patisserie Boissiere
Ranked #17 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relaxing and comforting venue modeled after a European chateau where tables are thoughtfully spaced and fresh flowers, fireplace, candles and soothing musical notes are integral part of the dining experience. The ambience sets the tone for French country food served with a great deal of care for detail, and pastries baked daily on premises. Dining room is available for private dinner parties.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not a touristy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Whenever we go to Carmel, we always are on the lookout for restaurants that are not tourist traps and are favored by the locals. Patisserie Boissiere is one of those gems in Carmel by Sea. It is located in Carmel Plaza on the outside on the street. We have had lunch there several times and they also serve dinner. We wanted to eat light since we were having an early dinner that night and ordered the marinated artichoke. WOW...to die for. It was cooked and then marinated in a vinegarette dressing. I had five prawns added to mine. It was served on a bed of greens with tomatoes and cucumbers on the side with basil mayonnaise to dip the leaves in. There were other appetizing entrees to chose from, but this was just right for us. If you go for lunch, get there when they open at 11:30 since the place fills up pretty fast closer to noon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    101
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Recommended to us and we totally agree its a terrific place to eat with very pleasant attentive service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ressota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant with a good chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

A small restaurant beautifully decorated. Small tables, reasonable space among tables.

Food : we can feel that every dish is prepared with great attention. onion soup is good. The lamb shank is the best I hv ever had. They also have a great choice of dessert.

Service : good, not like top class type. the waiter and the hostess are both friendly and professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LIGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Francophile's Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Step into this charming, welcoming retreat, and enjoy superb traditional French onion soup, Quiche Maison, and luscious, homemade desserts! Additional menu items offer a wide variety from which to choose. The ambience is cozy and intimate; decor is reminiscent of a French inn.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy, warm, great service and atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This little French restaurant located centrally in Carmel is a perfect dinner location with its great service, atmosphere and nice food for a reasonably high price. The place is quite small but very well decorated and lit, so that it feels like you're at your friend's home for dinner. The personnel are also very friendly and helpful and this makes the place feel even cozier. Even though it is cozy, it is also a classy place with excellent service.

I had beef bourguignon and it was well cooked with a quite big serving size. It is nice of the restaurant to include a delicious salad or soup with your meal as well as baguettes and pesto and butter. Even though it wasn't the best food I had, it is still very good for such a small place and the price range (around $20 for a meal). Also, the desserts are delicious and the coffee is great, which makes a perfect meal.

I would recommend this place mostly for a smaller group of friends or a romantic couple.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bogac_Kerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Boissiere also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Patisserie Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing