We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Boissiere

Patisserie Boissiere
Ranked #21 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relaxing and comforting venue modeled after a European chateau where tables are thoughtfully spaced and fresh flowers, fireplace, candles and soothing musical notes are integral part of the dining experience. The ambience sets the tone for French country food served with a great deal of care for detail, and pastries baked daily on premises. Dining room is available for private dinner parties.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fine pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Didn't eat a meal there -- only take-out pastries. All of the cakes we sampled were excellent. Le mousse au chocolat was good. Nothing that we bought (and we bought a variety of the pastry offerings) was less than very good. Did we feel like we were in Paris or Bruxelles? No, not quite. Nevertheless, a worthwhile detour for the lover of rich desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    90
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pricy takeout, but well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I suppose we could have paid two-thirds less and gone to Subway, but I just couldn't face the lackluster bread, slap-dash fillings, white lettuce and overbrined chicken. So imagine my delight when I saw that Patisserie Boissiere offered a picnic menu. We had the chicken Caesar salad and a seafood sandwich, both of which were very good. Had they had the onion soup to go, I would have ordered that, too; its aroma was enchanting. Ordered a walnut-oatmeal-chocolate chip cookie for dessert; one was enough for two. We ate in a church courtyard a few blocks away and enjoyed the garden immensely. I hope we can go for dinner the next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sweet revenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I can only comment on the pastries - the coconut cream pie was divine while the choux pastry items were good - not Parisian or Lyon standards. Service is cramped and harried, though. Selection changes daily.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CulturedBacillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped here having been recommended by someone we met in the street as she said the bakery was the best in town! It took us a while to find it but it was definitely worth it. I had the shepherds pie - this is not named correctly as it is made with beef and NOT lamb - that said it was truly delicious. Wife had the crab & advacado salad and got what looked like a whole crab - also very good! Would def go here again - highly recommended - great pastries as well

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Beef Bourguignon & Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We tried this restaurant after not being able to get into the Flying Fish Grill. It wasn't crowded at all. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was very comfortable and the food was delicious. I would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Boissiere also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Patisserie Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing