We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sweet, short trip to France”

Patisserie Boissiere
Ranked #17 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relaxing and comforting venue modeled after a European chateau where tables are thoughtfully spaced and fresh flowers, fireplace, candles and soothing musical notes are integral part of the dining experience. The ambience sets the tone for French country food served with a great deal of care for detail, and pastries baked daily on premises. Dining room is available for private dinner parties.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sweet, short trip to France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A bit of heaven. My 15 year old daughter's first encounter with brioche... real brioche. Languorous roses and alstromaria on the table, Understated, relaxed and yet excellent food. Attentive but not "in your face" service, and a convenient location. We were there for a late Sunday brunch, and though it was a busy day, the service and ambiance never made us feel rushed. It was a quick transport to Europe, and a lovely respite from Labor Day weekend hubbub.
We will return again...and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarasChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    103
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Not only is the food delicious, this restaurant is cozy and so very pleasant. The service is outstanding, making the experience totally enjoyable.

I especially liked the stuffed mushroom appetizer, & the lemon curd pie for dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ankplasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice Place to have lunch after doing the 17 mile drive ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

we just finished the 17 mile drive , and we were looking for a place to have a quick lunch before head back to SF.
Luckily we found this great resturant on the ocean avenue in Carmel city.
Its very romantic and the staff are great, and the best part is they have a really great selections on the menu which all seems tasty.
i tried the salmon and my brother tried the shrimp pasta
both were excellent
and the chicken liver for starter it was very tasty
in summery if you like french cusine , you will defenitly like this resturant

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UAEFOREX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

For the past 15 years, we have returned to this place whenever we are in Carmel. Great service, reasonable prices, terrific Salmon dishes, and a wonderful white sauce on the shrimp and scallops. All good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Baked Brie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to Carmel for a Friday afternoon wedding and planned to stay the weekend. We chose Patisserie Boissiere and made reservations well in advance since it was a Saturday in June. While busy, there was enough room for several walk-ins while we were there.

Ok, about the baked brie. WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! The brie was smothered in red onions and a delectable wine sauce. Definitely the best brie we have ever had! I ordered the seafood with polenta special, and my wife ordered the duck (she always orders the duck!). Both were very good and paired nicely with the White Burgundy wine that the manager recommended.

The service was attentive without being overbearing.

No question we will visit Patisserie Boissiere on our next visit to Carmel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank talkslikeaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Boissiere also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Patisserie Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing