We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty homes along the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Road Walkway

Scenic Road Walkway
Ranked #5 of 108 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty homes along the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Funny, we always walk down Ocean Avenue to visit the beach when we're in Carmel. This is our first time walking along Scenic Road. It was a nice residential walk along the beach. You walk along a paved side walk. When we went (Columbus holiday weekend), it was a bit busy. However, this didn't take away from us enjoying ourselves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank liberrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    45
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the the reason we came to California. It was incredible!! We had lunch at a place called Nepenthe's. The veiws we breathtaking

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than 17 mile Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a lovely walk or drive with the crashing ocean on one side and beautiful homes of all kinds from cozy cottages to McMansions on the other. Don't miss the Frank LLoyd Wright house along the way. Great photo ops at every step.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We rode our bikes on this magnificent road. It is nothing short of spectacular. With the beautiful winding road along the California coast, driving speed is very slow (and believe me, that is part of the charm). We loved it so much, we did this trail 5 times over our 5 day trip. 4 times on a bicycle and once by car. There are so many beautiful scenes, many photo opportunities here with funky architecture to the left (its a one way street) and the Beautiful Pacific coastline to the right... It is breathtaking beautiful! A must do when visiting Carmel by the sea!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulthepho2grapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC-MO
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable walk and level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

But be aware it is at the bottom of the hill.... He who comes down must go up.
Take it slow, look at the homes, enjoy the ocean

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Road Walkway also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Scenic Road Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing