We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Italian restaurants!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of da Giovanni

da Giovanni
Ranked #32 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: If you like being nestled among towering pines while enjoying Carmel ocean views and spectacular sunsets, or dining at romantic tables in cliffside Mediterranean cafes, da Giovanni is your place. Firok Shield and his restaurant family operate this Carmel restaurant with careful attention to detail and a love of hospitality, offering a fusion of recipes handed down from his grandmother, such as Insalata Greca or Osso Buco. It's no wonder da Giovanni is one of the most highly recommended.
Sand City, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is the real deal, i'd say the best Italian restaurant that I've been to in the area. Nice ambiance and great service. The meatballs are a amazing and a must as a side no matter what you end up ordering. This is a must go for Italian food lovers or anyone looking for a delicious and special meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Britpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Try the tiramisu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Enjoyed an early dinner there, not too crowded. Food was good, service excellent. We are not fans of tiramisu, but couldn't get enough of theirs - almost licked the plate!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We walked in without a reservation and Dia sat us immediately. The customer service was outstanding and the food was amazing. Definitely a new favorite in Carmel. The pear apple dessert was awesome!
Thanks Dia!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at da Giovanni, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, Mike. We loved having you dine at our restaurant. We welcome you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I made a reservation for 2 in Nov. '13 for the ATT Pebble for Feb 7 to make sure getting a table wasn't a prob. I spoke to a man who said he was "Giovanni" and that we were first on the list having called so early and that we would have a special table. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were given an inferior table by the front door. I asked to be seated at the other table for 2 across the restaurant, more intimate. I was told "no, that table is reserved." Having been confirmed by the owner on the phone that I was first on the list, that was a surprise. And, to add more, the table we asked for was never occupied during our evening at the restaurant. Food was good, but felt we were just a table to be served and moved. Won't go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas,CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food is always top notch and the wine list is one of the best I've ever seen. I always try to make a trip to one of the three restaurants owned by Firok as they are all exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at da Giovanni, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your beautiful review, Terri! We love having you as a customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing