We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Why haven't we gone before now?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of da Giovanni

da Giovanni
Ranked #35 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: If you like being nestled among towering pines while enjoying Carmel ocean views and spectacular sunsets, or dining at romantic tables in cliffside Mediterranean cafes, da Giovanni is your place. Firok Shield and his restaurant family operate this Carmel restaurant with careful attention to detail and a love of hospitality, offering a fusion of recipes handed down from his grandmother, such as Insalata Greca or Osso Buco. It's no wonder da Giovanni is one of the most highly recommended.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Why haven't we gone before now?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've been coming to Carmel for 35 years and had never been here until this July. It is a real treasure. Great food, huge menu, good prices and wonderful service. We had 5 people and everyone LOVED what they ordered. I had prawns with mushroom risotto and I can't imagine it being prepared better anywhere. The house cabernet was wonderful, and the server was one of the best we'd ever had. She knew every detail about the menu and wines and was a real professional. It is casual and the extensive menu has something for everyone - which is why we went in the first place. It was fabulous and this will be one of our regular spots when we return in a few months.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at da Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are very appreciative of your review! We work very hard to create a beautiful experience for our customers. Your note lets us know that we are doing it right! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    46
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Da Giovanni is my favorite restaurant in Carmel. It never disappoints me and always leaves me wanting to go back again and again, even though there are so many restaurants in Carmel, I've found this one to be delicious food, superb quality and dog friendly on the patio, so whether it's a romantic dinner inside, with low lights and a quant surrounding, or outside in shorts or jeans on the patio, with my puppies, I know I'm sure to enjoy the excellent food, service and wine at this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“an authentice mediterranean restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

YES, the service was excelent, and food was very good, I had the sand dabs.which was served mediterranean style, the light tomatoe sauce base, My husband realy enjoyed his baked halitbut in philo dough and spinach, The ambaiance is nice because you dine among the montery pines, the view from the window.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
“Delicious and elegant dining in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

da Giovanni has been my favorite restaurant for the last 13 years. With it's exceptional food, superb service, and romantic setting, it's getting a gold star from me. Whether I'm all dressed up, or not, and want to eat inside, for the ambiance, or a casual dinner outside, on the patio with my dogs, the food is such excellent quality, as well as the wines, and specialty dishes. It's upstairs, tucked away from the rest of the hustle and bustle off of Ocean. The owner has two other restaurants in town, but this one is my favorite. You will enjoy your meal whatever you order!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at da Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are loving your review, Julian! Thanks so much for writing it and for making our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went there because it was close to the hotel and we found parking right in the front (our dog was in the car, he couldn't stay in the hotel solo) later i found out they have a dog friendly patio
The menu included plenty of seafood pasta choices and even though I wasn't really in the mood for italian I left very satisfied, I had linguini with clams and my husband had misto di mare, both dishes were very tasty. Wines by the glass were decent, not many chothey have a very large list of wines by bottle. For desert we had the bread pudding, a little dry for my taste.
This restaurant has a nice ambiance and service is good

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobCaTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing