We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
46
30
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
30
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister propertymission ranchpriority seatingremodeled roomowned by clint eastwoodwithin walking distanceoffice closesmission styletwo blockstennis clubcalifornia vacationmini kitchenoutdoor fireplacedowntown carmelrestaurants and shopsmain buildingminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 84 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

We had stayed at the Mission Ranch for one night then we moved to The Homestead for 3 nights. We stayed in Room 44 on the pavement which was great as we had a lot of luggage and there were no stairs. We were able to park right outside our room which was good so we could keep an eye on our car. Our room was clean and spacious. The Carmel Valley Co coffee was lovely. The windows of the room do not open so I found it quite hot. Also the wi fi did not work very well and we had a lot of drop outs and could not reconnect. We drive to Mission Ranch for breakfast two out of three mornings and ate at Friar Tucks the other morning which was excellent. I loved the location being a short walk to the lovely Carmel shops.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank coasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

Spent three nights here August 2015. Absolutely perfect, Chose this on basis on Trip Advisor reports and we were not disappointed. Excellent location just one block from Downtown but very quiet. Huge room with great bathroom. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast included is at Clint’s Mission Ranch (about 10 mins walk) which was fantastic. Outside space to relax and enjoy sun & wine or beer. If you are looking for somewhere in Carmel…look no further.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAULKILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015

Our stay at the Homestead was wonderful! We were a family of four and the rooms were huge and well appointed! There is a free breakfast at the Mission Ranch. The grounds are amazing, we walked to the ocean from there and then through the scenic route and back to the hotel. It was a three mile loop, but just under a mile from the hotel. We loved the walk and looking at all of the charming homes along the way. The overall location was great! we walked everywhere, only two blocks from the main street, Ocean, and four short blocks to the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianneishappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

As other reviewers have noted, the first impression of the Homestead is that it's a bit "rustic". Looks can truly be deceiving. Several of my family members recently stayed here while attending a wedding and were all very impressed. The rooms were comfortable and were fairly quiet given most are right on the street. There is no parking but we didn't have any problems finding spots within a couple of blocks of the Inn. With rooms ranging from $95-175 a night in heart of Carmel, the Homestead can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceTea20132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Homesteads renovated rooms. My parents and son were in one room and we were in the other with my daughter. These rooms have two queen beds each. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and we felt well worth $260 each. The linens, finishes, bathrooms, fireplace, and amenities are first class. We were so surprised how good these rooms were given the 'rustic but pleasant' type comments on tripadvisor. I'm guessing the other rooms are not comparable to these renovated rooms. We would definitely stay he again. It was an added bonus that guests who stay here have preference over non guests when it comes to reserving for dinner at the fantastic Mission Ranch restaurant - definitely worth a visit. It's an easy walk to the beach and into town. There is no parking, but we found parking nearby very easily.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank Kelly159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews