We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need”
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This review is written by both me (the outdoorsy easy to please one) and my wife (the one with class and taste)

Overall this was a great stay, close to town with nice staff, and really can't complain. Here is the breakdown:

Morgan's pros: nice homey decor, rustic without being kitchy, small and quaint, nice garden, clean rooms

Kevin's pros: centrally located with our favorite restaurants within two blocks. Easy parking. They are a sister company to Mission Ranch, so we got free continental breakfast at the Ranch. You also get priority seating for dinner. Note: go to eat at Mission Ranch

Morgan's cons: low shower pressure, no vent in upstairs bathroom

Kevin's cons: had to flush toilet twice each time (I know what you're thinking...and it doesn't happen to me everywhere I go). Computer was down and they made us come back to check out. We stayed in a different room on the third night, and instead of moving our bags like they said they would, they asked us to take our bags with us for the day. We were also limited to when we could come back (couldn't check in after four). They were often not around and they probably could have been a little more accommodating for the room switch.

Room tip: the ground floor room gets noise from guests checking in. Definitely thin walls at this place.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kevin_and_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Homestead Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the rustic rooms. We felt as if we had our own cottage. The room was small but clean and comfortable. A large walk-in closet provided plenty of room for luggage. The hotel is located near restaurants and shops. A continental breakfast at The Mission Ranch is included in the price of the room. It's a five-minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just booked a last minute stay at the Homestead Inn in Carmel, when we also could not get a room at Mission Ranch. It was just perfect! We had 3 rooms - the lower level just off the reception area was for my momma, and was spacious and updated. My husband and I had the room that opens out to the upper patio with the fire pit, and it was not one of the updated rooms, but was absolutely fine. Our kids stayed in the smaller room next to ours, also not updated but was perfectly fine. The rooms have wine glasses and wine openers, so after dinner, we took our wine and made s'mores at the fire pit. It was one of our favorite evenings. If you stay at the Homestead, you get priority seating at Mission Ranch restaurant as well as free complimentary breakfast at Mission Ranch, which is about a mile away. We jogged from the hotel down to the beach, and along the beach. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Carmel on foot. We would certainly come back. Clean, affordable, comfortable, & very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The rooms which have not been updated are cheaper and really just fine: clean, well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMTexasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you're looking for it all in Carmel: location, affordability, cleanliness, this is the perfect place. The Homestead Inn is tucked away in a great spot in Carmel. Blocks from the coast, yet steps away from the neat shops and restaurants of Carmel By The Sea. We stayed in room 43. Right off the main entrance by the front desk. It was very quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. We regret we didn't enjoy the little courtyard with a fireplace. We were too busy exploring Carmel. :) The only tiny concern was the lack of air conditioning. Our room was very warm upon arrival, but we opened windows, got the ceiling fan going and all was well. Actually very chilly at night, which felt great.

Room Tip: Our travel companions stayed on the third floor and their room did get hot during the day, but it wa...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we couldn't get an extra night at the Mission Ranch.

Our room was recently remodeled, very comfortable, with a large selection of cable channels and strong wifi. spotlessly clean.

The location was right in the centre of everything. Throughly reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great location, within walking distance of the downtown area and the beach. Didn't deal with the staff much (phone reservation, check-in and check-out) but they were friendly and pleasant. We were able to extend our check-out to by a half hour to 11:30a which was nice. We were in a third floor room in the main building. We don't mind stairs and only had bags so it was no trouble, but if you don't like stairs or have suitcases it could be a hassle. Room and bathroom were clean but basic. Towels were fine but the bed was ok (too many places are offering comfort/luxury bedding now that I've come to expect it). Bathroom amenities were also basic but we didn't use them since we had brought our own. Overall for the price it was reasonable (since Carmel can be pricey), but besides the convenient, central location the rest of the property is just average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked two Rustic Rooms for our one night stay. These rooms have not been refurbished but were very clean, well appointed and comfortable - if just a little dated (with a tiny bathroom!). However for the price we paid (which is very reasonable for Carmel) we were happy with our rooms and highly recommend the property. The receptionist was very helpful and efficient.

The big bonus for our family was the hotels' location in Carmel - close to the main street with it's excellent shopping and restaurants.

We highly recommend a visit to A W Shucks for drinks and dinner - great food, great ambience and resonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellersGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 25 in Carmel
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing