We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location”
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock on a Saturday evening, we were looking for a last minute booking. The receptionist was very friendly and the room we checked into was a nice surprise, very homely with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location & very reasonable rate for Carmel. A basic continental breakfast at Mission Ranch was included, glad we drove as it was quite a long walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 which was very nice, it is on the ground floor on a side road, next door to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Homestead many times and have always enjoyed whichever room we get. We do have our favorites, but each is quite comfortable. It's location to shops and restaurants is hard to beat. Prices are very reasonable, particularly for Carmel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank civendiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked this since we've never tried it always staying at the Mission Ranch. Great location, in town, wonderful staff and you get the continental breakfast at the Ranch included. They have a common patio atop with fireplace. Here's the cons:
1. Bed has too high box spring making it bouncy.
2. Replace foam pillows with down or synthetic
3. Advise all guests the patio is for EVERYONE and not simply for selfish occupants of adjacent rooms.
4. Upgrade the room coffee to anything other than Folgers or Maxwell House since we live in the horn of coffee plenty!
5. We believe the Queens are NOT full sized queens since we both have them at home and ours are larger. Also, get fitted sheets!!!!!

We will stay there again but not in 44 since its literally on the sidewalk and street.

Room Tip: 44 if on the street with little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We found the Inn by accident as we arrived looking for another address. The Inn is owned and operated by the same as Mission Ranch. The breakfast that is included in the room we had to hike about half mile to the Mission Ranch. The atmosphere of the area is intoxicating and so enticing to visit but the breakfast is not for "everybody" as the choice was too simple. When we ate dinner at the Ranch it was wonderful and fresh, but the continental breakfast at the tennis club is a toaster and some cartons of juice. They had instant oatmeal but it would have been nice if other options (even for a charge) would have been available. I don't know why the restaurant isn't open because the rooms are pretty expensive and the breakfast was a crash to the atmosphere created.

Room Tip: Higher floor is definitely more charming as the view is possible. Very clear and the rooms toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the area. Great location and within walking distance to town and the beach. Clean and quiet room for a peaceful rest. We were given the handicapped room on the ground floor and found it very comfortable and extremely spacious. Complimentary bottled water in room. Off site parking and easy to find parking near inn. Most guests are golfers while visiting pebble beach golf courses. Did not drive over to Mission Ranch for breakfast. We did visit Mission ranch but found the location too far to walk and bothersome to drive to town and then find car park (2hrs limit) each time too cumbersome. Will definitely stay here again on next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I planned a California Vacation for me and my husband this year that allowed us to take our time and truly enjoy the California coastline. After a recommendation by a friend to look into booking the Tickle Pink Inn I just could not get a room. They were totally booked so I searched TA again for the next best thing, or better.

Came across this place and was not disappointed. Or at least not too much.

Location: I love the location of the Inn. It is within walking distance of Ocean Drive with so many unique shopping and restaurants so going on foot was not an issue.

Parking: Parking may be an issue because this is a quaint town that doesn't have the big name hotels/motels so there are no parking lots or garages. Parking is around the Inn which is situated in a Carmel neighborhood.

Room: Note, there is NO elevator here which I was not aware of this when I booked a room on the top floor. With a weeks' worth of clothes packed in large suitcases, it was challenging to go up the narrow and winding stairwell but it's doable. The room was very clean, with what I consider Mission style furniture which consisted of firm but comfortable queen bed, dresser, flat screen, accent table and leather wing back chair, a dark wood slated blinds, and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was large with a stand up shower, gold plumbing fixtures, old fashioned toilet and sink. Very charming. My one complaint, only because I'm from Texas is that there was no air conditioning despite there being two control panels that lead you to believe there is. HA! With cool nights in Carmel it turned out fine.

Price: The price was very reasonable. $180 a night. Note, if you arrive late, you must check coordinate a time that you will arrive so there's a clerk there when you arrive to get you checked in. Otherwise, you will have to drive to the Mission Ranch location. It's quite dark at night and hard to navigate if you're not familiar with the area, which we were not so it took me awhile to get us to the Inn after leaving the Ranch.

All in all, if or when we come back and there's no room at the Mission Ranch, we would come back to the Inn. We enjoyed the rest.

Room Tip: Always call prior to booking so you know what you're getting into so you're not disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jocelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this Inn by chance when we were looking for a place to stay for the night and what a fine it is. The room was very spacious and very comfortable with lots of light due to all of the windows making it quite pleasant. Easy walking distance to town and you also get quite a nice breakfast with it. When we come back to Carmel we will book this Inn far enough in advance so that we know we will stay in a place that provides comfort at a wonderful price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#11 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing