We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A great location as an easy walk to everything in Carmel. Very clean, very lovely, nice plantings. First class linens, a fireplace, and free breakfast at that famous Rancho place included. Entirely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location is fantastic. It is easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Carmel. Our room was big,very nicely furnished,and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a nice glass shower and was spotless! The toiletries were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cld63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just "happened" to stumble upon this gem. We initially contacted Mission Ranch for a reservation, but they had no vacancy. They offered a room at their "sister location". We were thrilled with this place. Our room was spacious and airy. The bathroom was very large and wonderfully clean( I am somewhat of a "clean freak").

We opened the windows and enjoyed a very peaceful night's sleep.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The price was very reasonable!!

If we are ever in Carmel again, this place will be on the list.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well cared for and modern room with super large bathrooms. Fabulous walk to location, staff was very nice and helpful. We had dinner on the patio on the ranch and watched the sheep in the pasture and idealic setting of the bay. Fabulous food

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Homestead is on a side street in Carmel which increases it's appeal as far as I'm concerned. Our room had a double bed, a twin bed, a little roof top deck, a full kitchen including an oven and stove, bathroom, and dining area. The fixtures were lovely and old fashioned. There are nice little seating areas throughout the property and you are still walking distance to the beach or Ocean Ave for the shops.

One thing to be prepared for is there is no parking in front of the hotel. There's a loading zone and then you need to go into the more residential neighborhoods to park your car, but this really wasn't a hardship.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were walk-ins. Paid full price. The rates are the lowest in Carmel which is still outrageous. But if you want a room in Carmel you're going to pay big bucks. You may want to see your room before you register. They are all completely different. This is an old house brought up to modern standards. The Homestead (that is the full name. Not Inn or B&B) is a Clint Eastwood Mission Ranch property and breakfast is a short car ride to Mission Ranch. The room was nicely furnished and clean with a very good shower.
The center of town is a short two block walk and there are lots of good restaurants. Enjoy Carmel.

Room Tip: There are at least three rooms that have access from inside as well as an outside door. Our room, 47...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were trying to stay at Mission Ranch, but that property was full. They offered us a room at the sister property in town and it worked out even better! We stayed in a "rustic" room, it was very homey and comfortable, it had a mini-kitchen and a working gas fireplace! Best of all the rate was fantastic compared to other hotels in Carmel and included a continental breakfast at Mission Ranch! We enjoyed the quiet of our cozy room and the front desk was very helpful with a map of the city and a recommendation for the "The Cottage" for breakfast (we wanted a regular breakfast), bring your appetite- it was delicious and huge!
We found another review on TA that recommended Little Napoli around the corner from the hotel, but we were there on a Friday evening and had dinner at their wine bar next door... (Reservations for the restaurant are advised!) It was wonderful! All in all when we return to Carmel, we will look for reservations at this hotel again!

Room Tip: There are quite a few stone steps at this hotel, so if you have mobility issues, take this into acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_Fool_80918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing