We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn. Its location was great for going to the shops and to the beach. We did not need to move our car from the lot once for the Friday and Saturday night that we stayed at the inn. Having stayed at other inns in Carmel parking can be an issue, and since the Sunset Inn has their own small parking lot in front of the inn that was great. My only complaints are that the bed was hard as a brick, and that the smokers who used the back patio left their cigarettes and cigars butts behind. The Porpoise room was large, with a fireplace that did not smoke. Lots of firewood was provided, and best of all our two small dogs were welcome. A gift basket for the dogs and for ourselves was waiting in our room on arrival. That was a nice touch. Also, the location was quiet. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 716 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2006

we chose this B&B after reading many tripadvisor reviews of places in carmel and the carmel forums. we stayed in the sea lion room, which is upstairs. fireplace (with plenty of firewood!!), carpet (makes a difference in room temperature in the winter), mini-fridge, windows that when open allow you to hear the crashing surf, mini-fridge and clean, pretty bathroom. room itself is very large, high ceilings and plenty of room in the closet. i wish my bedroom at home was this big!!

we were not sure we'd like the breakfast arrangement, as we are used to having the "go to the dining room and eat with other guests" experience. the mini-breakfast (yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee) was actually perfect to stave off hunger pangs while getting ready to go out for the day's activities. the discount coupons you get (at this time, you get $5 off breakfast per person at one of 4 restaurants close to the inn) turned out to be an excellent way to get us out into the town exploring right away. we enjoyed "the cottage" the first day and "em le's" the second day. both terrific, and no uncomfortable feeling using the coupons, both establishments were happy to see us using them.

this B&B is in a great location, off the main drag of ocean avenue (lots of traffic on that street all day!!) and still within walking distance of the beautiful beach, the charming neighborhood homes and the downtown art galleries, shops and restaurants. really appreciated the parking area -- if you drive to carmel valley during the day and come back to town in afternoon you may have a difficult time finding a place to park on the street if you are at another B&B.

we walked by quite a few of the other B&Bs in town and were pleased with our choice of sunset house. we may try some other places on a return trip or two, however we would be happy staying here again. we had lovely dinners at "merlot! bistro" the first night and at "grasings" the second night -- highly recommend both!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank llaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights - Thurs, Fri, Sat. It is a home that was converted into 4 full service rooms. We stayed in the Sea Otter Suite - which had a nice king size comfy bed, fireplace, and bathroom. The bathroom is super small and had some trouble with the toliet but the fireplace was nice. The view looks out toward the ocean but directly overlooked the small parking lot (could be noisy with comings/goings). The location is excellent - right off of the main drag / about 2 blocks from the beach and walking distance to all shopping/restaurants. For the price, I think it was a fine place to stay. We never saw anyone else. They have a private parking area.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SaraCKTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silias83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ardenner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $221 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing