We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #1 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed here for two nights recently. Were originally booked at the Forest Lodge but since there was construction, we were moved to Lamplighter.
The inn is very conveniently located within walking distance of everything, including the beach. The front desk person was friendly and accommodating.
Our room, king size bed and twin, was large and had an area to sit and relax and it was nice to have a working fireplace.
Breakfast was yogurt, juice, muffin served in a basket usually around 9 a.m.
Overall, it nice. I think the bathrooms (shower only) can use updating, and a larger space to place items would be most helpful.
The room could also use some updating/freshening up.
I would recommend if you stay here, asking for a room off the main street (which can be busy/noisy). I would probably stay in a hotel next visit but if you like an inn experience,
this would be fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    103
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
158
379
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

The Lamp Lighter Inn in Carmel is a magical place, complete with an intimate gazebo
and courtyard perfect for enjoying the wine and cheese reception each evening. The grounds are so charming and beautiful that numerous tourists passing by would stop and take pictures. And the location is ideal, several blocks from Carmel Beach and just a short walk from Carmel's world-famous shops.

We stayed with our children in the Bluebird Cottage, which was the original part of the
inn built nearly a century ago. It has been beautifully renovated, yet retains its old-world
charm. If you've ever wondered what it would be like to live in a Thomas Kinkade
painting, this is your chance.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They recommended things to do and see, made reservations for us at several excellent restaurants and served continental breakfast in our cottage every morning.

The Lamp Lighter Inn is quintessential Carmel; a unique place within a unique place.
You will love it.


every morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halftheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was my first trip to the Lamplighter Inn. I booked the reservation with high expectations and with overwhelmingly positive reviews from my family and friends. Upon our arrival, I was blown away. I was expecting cute cottages nestled in the woods. That's what we got...and a whole lot more! The room was immaculately clean and decorated with fine detail and style. I was expecting the Inn to bank off it's location and neglect a greater attention to detail. That was not the case. The furniture looked hand picked and unique, the upholstery was clean (not even a small amount of dog hair one would expect from a pet friendly hotel) and the location was even more ideal than I had imagined. We enjoyed takeout dinners and wine on the romantic terrace in front of our cottage. There was easy access to the dog beach for our pups to run around and exhaust themselves. The service from booking to checking out was professional, courteous and warm. I look forward to many more getaways at the Lamplighter Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Sea Star room for 4 nights. We were in Carmel for a little rest and relaxation. We were greeted by Melissa who has such a wonderful personality and made us feel at home. There was complimentary Sherry with glasses waiting in our room. The room was very cozy and comfortable (esecially with the fireplace in the evenings). Each morning we received a breakfast basket of hard-boiled egss, muffins, yogurt and orange juice. We really appreciated the refrigerator and microwave as well.

The bathroom was the only negative feature in the room:
1. A foul smell coming from the sink throughout our stay. We bought a candle but that did not help.
2. The bathroom was a little small and shabby.
3. Each morning upon turning on the shower; brown water would come out of the faucet. Not fun!

All in all, the Lamp Lighter Inn is a delightful place to stay. The staff is so friendly and welcoming . I would recommend the Lamp Lighter Inn to my frineds and family

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

As a Brazilian, I usually visit beautiful beaches. But I can say that this wonderful inn and this awesome beach are good choices for everyone who ´s looking for relaxation and romance. It was a great surprise for me and my wife to meet all the staff. We came from San Francisco for a two days resting period during a medical conference, and we became very proud. Congrats, you´re the best, especially Melissa...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazilianfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake village, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

From the amazing staff (Bobby, Inge and Melissa) and wonderful garden to clean and charming rooms - the Lamp Lighter simply made our vacation one we'll always happily remember. It has the best location (closest hotel to the beach) and is steps away from great dining and shopping. It exceeded our expectations and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishHeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Inspired and flawless....Helpfull and friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 26 in Carmel
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#2 of 26 in Carmel
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Property: Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing