We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quirky stay in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #1 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful quirky stay in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a lovely spot for your stay in Carmel - just a few blocks up the hill from the beach, and a few more up to the main shopping/dining area - it's ideally located. The rooms are lovely and individual, well-appointed and very comfortable. The bathrooms are on the small side but this did not detract. Loved the wine/cheese every evening around the fire, and breakfast was well-catered for. Would love to come back some time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenpercent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    96
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
150
361
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed just one night (two would have been better!) in June and absolutley loved Lamp Lighter Inn. Our room was Tree Top House and it was just gorgeous. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom, especially the shower was on the small side but luckily we're not large people. We arrived in time for the end of wine & cheese hour and enjoyed meeting other guests. We ate up the road at Flahertys Seafood Grill - delicious! Being cat people and missing our furkids, it was lovely to have Shadow come and sleep on our bed for half the night. The breakfast was more than adequate and we were most happy to see a jar of Vegemite out for us 'Aussies'. We would definately stay again if ever back in Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Early Bird Cottage, with our daughters 6 and 9 years old in September 2013, our first visit to Carmel, CA. This was the highlight of our week long stay. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious despite the tiny shower - which is understandable given how long the inn has been around. Great location - we walked to the beach. The resident cat Shadow was very playful and our girls LOVED playing with him. Peggy gave us plenty of toys to keep him entertained and it was nice to chat to people at the wine hour by the fire pit. breakfast consisted of a self service room with pastries, breads, fruit and yoghurt.

This a charming place and we look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbiedoll_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Lamplighter Inn for just one night and had two rooms between the four of us. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our rooms which were both really substantial and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the early evening drinks and nibbles before heading out for dinner. We were on a tight schedule for our west coast trip so couldn't fit in more than one night here but we all agreed that if we had our time again we would have been happy to have stayed at least 2 and probably 3 nights. A lovely Inn in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had no plans on staying in Carmel for the night, as we were driving up from LA to San Francisco (and did not have much time. As we decided to stay overnight, we drove around to find somewhere to sleep. The Lamp Lighter Inn was one of the hotels I had seen when researching. It was a rainy day and the staff was very nice. As they did not have na available room in the main part of the hotel they asked if we were interested to see a room across the street. The room was located on the top of a garage just in front of the hotel and belonged to them. So they showed us the room and it was very cute! There was a little kitchen, bathroom, nice decorated bedroom with fireplace. Just one word: adorable! Breakfast is served in a small room near the reception desk but that´s not a problem because there´s lots of availabe seating space outside (including an outdoor fireplace). The location is very nice too. I do recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisele864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our second visit and we really like this property. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We like the light morning breakfast routine and the evening wine and cheese in front of the reflecting gas fire. We also really enjoyed (again) our contact with Mel (Melissa Smith) on the staff here and feel all of the staff are first rate, even Shadow, the cat (who tolerated our advances)! In our opinion, it is this outstanding staff that make this a delightful place to stay. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Peggy is a gem. We stayed in the Dali suite very comfortable. Walking distance is everything.
Breakfast was delivered so sweet. Afternoon wine and cheese very nice.
Peggy has great recommendations for dining and shopping. Take 17 mile drive. Pebble beach is a great stop along the way

Room Tip: Dali was great but removed from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#2 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Property: Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing