We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem close to the Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #1 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem close to the Ocean”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in The Lamplighter Inn for a night on our trip down to the coast which we loved. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The room, Sea Otter, was really pretty and well appointed. The Inn is closre to the Ocean and within a short walk to the town, restaurants, shops etc. We loved the complimentary glass of wine in the evening sitting around the fire chatting to other guests. Breakfast was nothing special but perfectly acceptable and very pleasant to be able to have it outside. Gluten free bread was available which was a bonus. Highly recommend the Lamplighter Inn.

Room Tip: Our room was at garden level and there was no noise or inconvenience so can't imagine it makes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    103
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
160
386
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lamp Lighter Inn in the Katydid Cottage for two nights. We loved the location of the Inn, as it was a 5 minute walk to the beach and very central to Carmel's best restaurants and shopping. The outdoor courtyard was also nice with multiple tables and firepit, and we enjoyed having our breakfast outside each morning.

The Katydid Cottage is cutely appointed and comes with a comfortable queen size bed, fridge, honor snack bar, stand up shower, iron, hairdryer, etc. It also comes with an electric fan which was KEY to us staying cool during our stay (although I would have preferred air conditioning!). Opening the windows wasn't a great option as the courtyard was right outside, and we could hear everyone going by/talking at night and in the morning during breakfast. The bathroom could also use a bit of an update, as could some of the furniture in the room. However, this was outweighed by the overall charm and location of the Lamp Lighter Inn, and we are glad to have stayed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramels03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knox
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Forest Lodge. So wonderfully lovely!! We totally fell in love with this place. Super clean and cozy! Breakfast was delivered to our room in a basket. We arrived very, very late at night but the staff had ensured a key would be available. We will definately be back. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lamp Lighter for one night as part of our trip down the coast and we had a wonderful experience. The Inn is very quaint, which I mean in the most positive sense, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Tree Top room and we felt like we were sleeping in an adorable, comfortable, tree house all to ourselves. We especially enjoyed the complimentary happy hour by the fire with wine and cheese. Would definitely recommend Lamp Lighter!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Lamp Lighter last week. The staff are so friendly and arranged whale watching for us, and yes we saw Blue whales, dolphins, porpoises and Humpbacks as well as seabird life.
The beach at Carmel is a few steps away from Lamp Lighter, where we saw dolphins and enjoyed watching life go by. The only drawback is thin walls - we didn't much like overhearing next door - sorry! I think the bathroom could do with a bit of updating but that is a small quibble.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. Showed up right as complimentary wine hour started. Beach fires are allowed a couple blocks away. They were nice enough to order us a pizza and get everything together for us for the beach. I think it was an extra 35 for the fire kit. But having pizza, wine and fire on the beach= priceless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunar-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we loved this place. Carmel is truly beautiful and the staff here are lovely. It was the perfect little beach town. We thoroughly reccomend the fire on the beach kit. It was beautiful and we even saw dolphins as we were walking to set up. The staff were all very very lovely and we really appreciated the sparkling wine for our honeymoon. We loved the cat "shadow" and the town of carmel is wonderful. The only reason not a 5/5 was that our room "Katydid" which on the whole we really loved and definitely recommend was a little hot in the afternoon and we couldn't find a way to cool down easily (maybe we missed something). Other than that is was really lovely. The breakfast has all you need, breads cereals, pastries. The staff were all lovely and the fire in the evenings is very special. We would definitely come again :-) thank you all!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Property: Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing