We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Normandy Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobos Lodge(Carmel)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Lodge(Carmel)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveler rating
579
103
26
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
103
26
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitwine and cheesehansel and gretellion roomblue birdb bthe early birdother guestsyogurtperfect locationbreakfast basketocean avenueshops and restaurantstwo blockseach eveningclose to towncarmel by the sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 721 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we loved this place. Carmel is truly beautiful and the staff here are lovely. It was the perfect little beach town. We thoroughly reccomend the fire on the beach kit. It was beautiful and we even saw dolphins as we were walking to set up. The staff were all very very lovely and we really appreciated the sparkling wine for our honeymoon. We loved the cat "shadow" and the town of carmel is wonderful. The only reason not a 5/5 was that our room "Katydid" which on the whole we really loved and definitely recommend was a little hot in the afternoon and we couldn't find a way to cool down easily (maybe we missed something). Other than that is was really lovely. The breakfast has all you need, breads cereals, pastries. The staff were all lovely and the fire in the evenings is very special. We would definitely come again :-) thank you all!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stayed in Carmel before I knew that it was mostly B&B's but with quality, and Lamp Lighter was not to disappoint. The room was large, bright and clean. Bed was big and comfortable. Sherry in the room and fridge with an honesty bar. Outside in the courtyard they had a fire pit that was great in the evening, where we had the Wine and Cheese each day with other guests.
The service was first class, nothing was to much trouble.
On site parking was good as Carmel gets very busy. Here with 3 other couples and all had nothing but positive things to say about the place.
Stay here and have a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I agree with what others have said. The Porpoise room had a comfortable enough king size bed but the bathroom and its fixtures are very out dated. They could at least strip out the old moldy caulking and replace it. The jetted tub was very small and not inviting. Lastly, being an older place, the walls are very thin so expect to hear neighbors.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entire family delighted in our two-night stay at the Lamp Lighter Inn, Bluebird Cottage. The cottage includes a downstairs with a king bed, and a loft with two twins for my dudes. The kiddies loved having their own private space to play. Hubby and I appreciated the walk-friendly location, complimentary sherry in-room, the wine and cheese in the evening, and the fabulous complimentary breakfast spread in the morning. A dutch door was featured in our cottage. We felt like we were in a fairytale, complete with cuddly animal friend in Shadow the Lamp Lighter kitty cat. Our hostess was so generous to our boys, even offering games, toys, and gogurt as part of the breakfast spread. She alone rates this place a "5". A note about the bathroom: it is a bit outdated and may be something that others would find objection with, but I just really liked that it added to the feel of stepping back through time. The shower is a bit dark and slippery; maid service is late, after 2pm. None of this deters me from my "5" rating, though, since none of that really matters to me. I actually would love to return just to tarry a bit longer in Carmel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Lamplighter! We stayed in both the cute Katydid and gorgeous, spacious Sea Star. Both rooms were perfectly cleaned and had very comfortable beds! The cheese and wine in the afternoon around the fire pit was lovely as we got to know many of the other guests staying there. The location is fantastic, only a short walk to the beach one way and many tasty restaurants the other way! Our highlights during our stay were having a bonfire on the beach, watching the sunset and tasting the Lamplighter wine!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews