We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breathtakingly Pretty Place, Lovely Staff and a Chilled Out Cat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #1 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Pretty Place, Lovely Staff and a Chilled Out Cat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I could not find a single fault with this place. The rooms are beautiful, the service is really relaxed and welcoming. The location is great, you can walk to the beach or boutique shops within minutes.

We had a lovely fireplace in our room with a fire made up for us which was a real nice touch. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in Dolphin and can happily recommend it, there were three of us and we still had plenty of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    103
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
154
376
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pleasant as this inn is, it seems a stretch to rate it as the #1 b&b in Carmel. It is well located between the shops on Ocean Ave. and the gorgeous Carmel beach and the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Our room was fine - but not great. The finishings, especially in the small bathroom, were low end with no counter space or shelving to accommodate toiletries, hair dryer, etc. The bed was soft, outfitted with nice linens. A very basic breakfast is included - consisting mainly of carbohydrates with a hard boiled egg and peanut butter being the only protein options the morning we were there. That said, the price was gentle by Carmel standards which probably explains the high ratings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Lamp lighter Inn is a great place to stay. It is near the beach and the shops. The staff are extremely helpful. Although we didn't have our dog with us, (he was back in the U.K.), we will always choose a place that welcomes dogs in future, because they seem to employ happy, welcoming staff. They gave us a tag, dog toy and treat to take home.
Our room was small but perfectly formed, clean and brilliant shower. Breakfast was delicious and the wine and snacks in the late afternoon were very welcome.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hansel and Gretel cottage. There were 6 of us, two adults and our four children (7,12,16,18). We knew it would be a little cramped and were fine with it. Staff was fantastic. Location is fantastic. Cottage was charming.

The kids loved surfing, beachcombing and tidepooling and we took advantage of the beach fire kit on Saturday night too!

In no way did this diminish our stay, but be forwarned that if you stay in the H & G cottage, you are right on the sidewalk. Both Saturday and Sunday night, we were awoken by drunken shouting outside around 1AM-2AM.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrecknball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My daughter just celebrated her 12th birthday at the Lamplighter and it was an incredibly happy event thanks to the efforts of Cindy and Peggy who run the B & B. They decorated our two rooms for a festive birthday celebration - streamers, flowers, banners, etc. This was Cindy's idea - not mine! Cindy picked up a birthday for me as I was coming out of town. She even had a card and present for my daughter. I've never experienced such incredible attention in a hotel or inn. The Lampligher provided everything we needed for a fire on the beach under the stars. I could go on and on.

This was not our first stay at the Lamplighter. We've stay there every time we go to Carmel and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Finally, our dog, Nico, absolutely loves it there. It's his home away from home.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Bluebird (great for families) and the Concourse (perfect for a couple)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadiantTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed in Carmel for two night in July 2103. We were in the Blue Bird Cottage which was great for our short stay as it gave lots of rooms for all our luggage! Our room was clean and nicely renovated with great linen, lots of towels and excellent free wifi! The Lamplighter is well located for an easy walk just a couple of blocks up from the beach and right on the edge of the bustling shop and restaurant area. It is also very close to the Carmel gate entry for the '17 mile' drive. The hosts at the Lamplighter offer complimentary 'wine and cheese' each evening and this is a fantastic initiative. It enabled us to mingle and chat with other guests and to share lost of travel tales. We all found ourselves nestled comfortably around the fire and chatting on both nights and, then, reluctant to draw away and head to each of our own dinner bookings! I would recommend the Lamplighter to anyone visiting Carmel!

Room Tip: Make sure you are around for the 'wine and cheese' session each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in sea otter. Really lovely room. We arrived at free wine time so had wine and cheese by the outdoor fireplace with the other guests. The receptionist booked us dinner and we settled down to have some free sherry while we got ready. Slept like babies in a very comfortable bed. Not sure about the stir lock as no way to check it was locked and the door sprung open in the morning. Great breakfast and on our way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Property: Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing