We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Repeat...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #3 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed @LLI 3 days in June. Short walk to shops etc. & to ocean front, enjoyed faint crashing waves in evening. Landscaping on grounds inviting. Staff friendly and accommodating w/nice help-yourself breakfast & outdoor fireplace in evening. Room (w/fireplace) clean, plenty of space, bed comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John1984_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 720 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is fabulously located on the main street in Carmel about 4 blocks from the beach. Its got a beautiful central garden/patio area around which the rooms, which are all very different, are located. Nothing is more than two stories. Rooms are compact, but comfortable and ours (Tree Top) had everything e needed, including in room coffee making. Between 5 and 6 the house provides wine and cheese and breakfast is simple, but wholesome, and is served al fresco in the patio from 8am.Its a short walk to anything in Carmel. THe staff were really helpful in organising a cab to take us to and from dinner and in giving us information about a variety of things. Its not the most upmarket place, but it doesn't pretend to be 5 star, and I would very happily stay there again, or recommend it to any of my friends or family.

Room Tip: Tree Tops was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What can I say this the most friendly welcoming place I have ever stayed at,
The girls are just lovely and you have to experience afternoon drinks with cheese and crackers around the fire pit,
Breakfast is great and you can sit around the fire pit if it is cold the girls will be only to happy to light it.
I would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: The Sea otter or the Sea Lion are excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Lamp Lighter is truly a wonderful place to stay. The warm welcome, immaculate and comfortable room, and a great location convenient to shops and restaurants. We will stay here again and recommend it with confidence. Thanks Lamp Lighter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topazhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for the first time June 1 & 2, 2013. We took our 2 small dogs and we stayed in the Porpoise Room. This room was pretty big and even had a small gated patio for the dogs. This was a great feature and we didn't have to get up and take the dogs for a walk to do their business, all we had to do was open the door! The bathroom was small and the shower was very awkward getting in and out so be aware if you have physical limitations. Nice amenities in the room too, fridge, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, portable heater, small fan too. A nice wood burning fireplace was in the room too and they had a nice supply of wood to use. We spoke to the owner's sister and she was very accommodating. The afternoon cheese and wine was very good and as well as the morning breakfast. The breakfast wasn't served until 8:15 am, and since we are early risers, we would walk 2 short blocks up Ocean avenue to our fav coffee place, Carmel Coffee House & Roasting Company which opens at 6am. Try the Fog Lifter Coffee, delicious! They also had an assortment of breakfast muffins, bagels too. The service area/kitchen for the Inn was right next to this room and it could get a little noisy when they were preparing the afternoon wine/cheese and the morning breakfast, but it was tolerable. We will be making our next reservations soon!

Room Tip: If travelling with dogs, choose the Porpoise or Concourse room. Each has their own private fenced pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you're staying in Carmel then you'll do no better than this entirely original, very sweet & utterly charming one-off of a Hotel.
It's superbly located being just a short & pleasant stroll along along one of Carmel's finest and most expensive avenues to the Beach - which is beautiful.
The arhcitecture and design of the Lamplighter is different, original & a sheer delight.
No one room is the same. Mine was bright, had high vaulted celings, absolutely pristine, had a slightly 'camp' decor (to match the local magazine that had Doris Day adorning it's cover the month I was there!) which was fun, a very sweet bathroom, and central heating and air con that worked beautifully.
I wanted to go Whale Watching off the Monterey Coast and the fabulous person on Reception arranged it for me quickly and easily and with an excellent company that took me on a fantastic voyage of discovery.
There is a charming 'fire pit' around which you can sit in the evening and relax too.
I think the Lamplighter has to be one of the most charming, original and sweet places to stay in all of California and I cannot recommend it highly enough to anyone visiting gorgeous Carmel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercipientDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights in April 2013 and stayed in The Sea Otter room. The room was very big and the bed was huge, really comfortable. We had a brilliant nights sleep.There's sherry in the room if you fancy a tipple and a real fire which was lovely. There's complimentary breakfast and also wine tasting in the evenings. It's the closest bed and breakfast to the beach which is a two minute walk. Would definitely stay here Again.

Room Tip: Ask for The Sea Otter room, you can see the sea slightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 26 in Carmel
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#9 of 26 in Carmel
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#2 of 26 in Carmel
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $276 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing