We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our 2nd trip to the Lamp Lighter Inn and definitely not the last. We have already booked for Thanksgiving. Have stayed in two different rooms and both were just delightful and very clean. The staff couldn't be more accommodating to our every wish and were so helpful with reservations, etc. The breakfasts and the wine and cheese in the evenings were great. Our toy poodle and shihtzu loved being there too around friendly people.

Room Tip: They are all good, it just depends on what you want in beds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM95603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 716 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely little B & B. The open fire outside with cheese and wine in the evenings were delightful. The host will go out of her way to help you in any way she can. Location is perfect both for the beach and the restaurant and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tansy_S1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I visit Carmel several times a year and have stayed at innumerable properties both in Monterey and Carmel. This year being our 5th anniversary and with our schedules leaving us limited travel time, we decided to hop over to Carmel and relax for a quiet weekend. We started calling around at very short notice at the end of the week. We found a lovely gem at the Forest Lodge (which I have no idea why we have not stumbled upon it before!) a little upstairs room called "The Garret Loft! It was like a little private "tree-house" for the weekend. It was a little quaint, "shabby-chic" style room, -- exactly as the name implies---"loft-style". It has lovely stained glass windows, tiled bathroom with wonderful bath products! This room is very bright! So if you wish to sleep in, be aware that the light of morning will find you! There are no window coverings for the little windows here and there (would look silly if there were!) so it's bright early! But that was okay -- we're in Carmel! There is a nice bottle of sherry in the room which was a nice touch. You have to call to the sister property down the way for them to bring you a basket for breakfast in the morning. It consisted of bagels, raisin toast, fruit, yogurt, and orange juice. Enough to get you started for the day. The view from our upstairs loft was beautiful in the morning. There is an area below with a little table and chairs surrounded by the trees if you wish to have coffee or even take your breakfast there if you wish. All in all, we were very comfortable and loved our weekend at the Forest Lodge. I have to add; Peggy that we spoke to and booked the room with,was a true delight! What a pleasant, lovely lady! She even gave us a bottle of Chardonnay to enjoy for our anniversary. She made check-in a breeze -- and made sure we had everything we needed! Thank you Forest Lodge for a great anniversary!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here twice, each time in a different room (tree top and katydid). Loved it both time! The ahowers are small but I think that is part of the charm. The Complimentary wine and cheese around sunset is a nice touch. Can't beat the location and the staff is very friendly. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSmartTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I had a one night getaway and it was the most comfortable and relaxing trip we have had. The rooms are cozy and the bed was so comfortable. The courtyard was well kept and inviting.

The property is a very close distance to shopping and restaurants so you can literally just park your car and walk your whole trip.

I highly recommend the Lamp Lighter Inn. The staff is extremely friendly and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kookandcourtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Only 2 blocks from Pebble Beach lies a truly magical Inn. My wife and I arrived to a warm welcome, fully appointed room, The Dolphin, with fireplace and Sherry waiting. The Inn is pet friendly and Shadow the cat is a great ambassador. Wine and Cheese by the firepit in the evening surrounded by interesting guests, then off to dinner at the Cypress Inn, only 2 blocks away. The staff is outgoing, warm, friendly, and always willing to help with the smallest request. As avid B&Ber's this is most definately worth a return trip!! 5 Stars +++

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not the best stay. The Lamp Lighter Inn is very cute and quaint. Also extremely compact. I decided to drive to Carmel for a one night birthday get away. I was looking for a room with specifics... a jacuzzi bath tub in the room and a fire place AND privacy. The room was cute, there was a fireplace but the jacuzzi tub was in the bathroom and it was meant to fit my 7 year, let alone me or my 6'2 husband. :( And not only was it tiny but the jets did not work. Nor did the front desk staff do anything to satisfy the situation. Also because the inn is so compact there really is no privacy right. The sitting area/ deck with benches and chairs surrounding a fire place was right in front of our room... not really private.
Too many other cute inns and hotels in Carmel to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#3 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $221 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing