We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel's Forest Theater

Carmel's Forest Theater
Ranked #23 of 107 things to do in Carmel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PacRep at the Forest Theatre - annual family musical (Beauty & the Beast, Peter Pan, Wizard of Oz, etc.), and traditional Shakespeare Festival under the stars at one of the oldest outdoor theatres on the west coast Historic theatre dating to 1910 and early stage used by the Carmel 'bohemians' that started the city's theatre movement. Shakespeare Festival includes repertory productions at PacRep's Golden Bough Playhouse and the Circle Theatre.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Took my grand daughters last summer for the first time---we all loved it (even grandpop).
I will be going this next week-end with my friend. Very unique way to enjoy a play, soak up the
atmosphere, eat and drink comfortably. Theres plenty of room.. We went in the afternoon since
it can be chilly in the evenings. Highly recommend it if you are in the area. Very reasonably price for the quality of the play that we saw. I've paid three times the price for plays that were not nearly as good.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank shirleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Been there, done that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I've been on both sides of the lights - as an audience member and also as a performer on stage. Bring a picnic lunch, pillows to sit on, a blanket to cover you and wait for the sunset and the play to begin. Great for kids, too. Real magic.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

See theater outdoors under the stars and bring a picknik dinner or wine & cheese. There is a snack bar with excellent deserts as well as the usual snack bar fare. In the summer they show movies on nights when there is no theatrical performance

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DinerDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quaint Outdoor Theatre in Carmel-by-the-Sea Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Live Theatre, Summer Old Time Movie Series. Take a blanket, a picnic and a beverage of your choice and have a blast with the community and visitors alike. Great fun. Have been many times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wannabinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Community Outdoor Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

One of the last few in the West. Bring your own wine, dinner and blankets, or buy drinks and snacks there. A unique and subtle local experience you'll never forget. Affordable and quality local theatre.

Helpful?
1 Thank Local93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel's Forest Theater also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel's Forest Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing