We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seventeen Mile Drive

Seventeen Mile Drive
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$220.00*
and up
2-Day Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach Tour from...
Ranked #3 of 107 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
197 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is really unique. If you are in the neighborhood, you must ride this 17 Mile scenic route, probably best from North to South. Cost $ 9.75, but it is worth it. You get a little folder telling you some specifics about the different spots.When you get out, you feel and see the force of wind and water. No problem to see wildlife: seals, humback whale, ... High class restaurants and cottages and golf courses (Pebble Beach) along the route.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ca_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,437
    494
    192
    47
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we were taken by surprised by the polemical USD 10, my husband and I decided to do the drive on our way out of Carmel as it would be the perfect way to say goodbye to this beautiful region... And we were not disappointed! We enjoyed the drive, the very scenic beaches, the wildlife (we even saw some deer on the golf course!) and we were blessed with perfect weather (no fog!) We stopped a number of times for photographs and what we thought would be a 30-minute deal lasted about 2 hours, but this was time very well spent. Had we had one extra day in Carmel we would have ridden a bike instead of doing the drive. It certainly would have been an amazing experience too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cpc_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The 17-mile drive is a must for anyone travelling down from SF to Carmel/Monterey. The view is breath-taking and beyond words.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellabelli-41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well I just loved this drive, it was incredible sights, the beach areas, the golf course, we got to see deer on the green at Pebble Beach, just like driving in a different world. Was definitely worth the trip going on this drive, weather was perfect, views were awesome!!!! Very nice, I would definitely do again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rickcatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Coast ! Beautiful houses !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful sunny day to drive along California coast and see how the ultra wealthy live. Many beautiful places to stop and admire the Pacific Ocean and coastline !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventeen Mile Drive also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Seventeen Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing