We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Lodge
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Had our honeymoon here. Great stay. We loved the Einstien Cottage. Almost bigger than our NYC apartment. Service was super friendly. We really enjoyed the breakfast.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is a cute b&b/hotel right in the heart of downtown Carmel by the Sea. The location is perfect for enjoying this quant town, and the rooms have recently been updated. My only issue is that the rooms are quite a bit smaller than they appear on the website. I looked in some of the rooms at the sister property, the Lamplighter Inn, and those rooms are pretty small as well. A few of the rooms were a little bigger, so if you stay here, just make sure to ask for one of the bigger rooms.
Overall, a great little place to stay in Carmel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

When we pulled up to Forest Lodge and saw the cute yellow cottages, we weren't expecting how contemporary and cool the rooms would be.

Were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of wine, huge comfortable bed, reclaimed wood floors, local art on the walls, flat screen TV and remodeled bathroom.

If you appreciate unique places...you won't want to miss this one. It's great for a weekend getaway with your friend/love Or for the family as there are about 5-7 cottages that can be booked (thinking of having a family reunion here next year).

Across the street from the main part of town and a few blocks from the beech, staying here lets you get everywhere by foot. Nice to not have to drive anywhere!

We have definitely found our new favorite spot and will be back soon and, hopefully, often. Especially since we found flights from San Diego for less than $100 via Allegiant Air!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Current_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califrnia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is a quaint cozy Inn with wonderful convenience to walk to Carmel with it's great restaurants. This could be a great family reunion spot with a wonderful large patio to utilize and meet all your family and friends within the center garden of the lodge. It was comfortable and clean. I would recommend a stay here. Enjoy Carmel By The Sea!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherRestauran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

You will love the charming little cottages, we stayed at the garden house it was very beatiful no problems at all. Best Hotel EVER!!!!!!!! very clean . nice and happy staff. fast internet. I want to live here now. I highly recamend this place to anyone with a fmily with uner 5 people though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noyonoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2009

i stayed in a remodeled room, did a great job to the property, its worth your while to stay at this place

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Property: Forest Lodge
Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing