We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally perfect place to stay in Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Lodge
San Bruno, California
1 review
“Totally perfect place to stay in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Forest Lodge and it was great from beginning to end. It's calm, peaceful, quaint and having your own little cabin in the middle of Carmel it couldn't be any better.
The place has a very personal touch and we just found out that some of the cabins are named after famous people that have stayed there, so they have "The Einstein cabin", "Dali suite" etc.

We even got a bottle of their Lamplighter wine as a gift when attending one of their complimentary wine evenings.
They also bring a basket of breakfast to your doorstep in the morning.
Perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I love sharing the history of the cottages with guests. I feel like it adds to the enchantment of the place. Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Belle, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lamp Lighter Inn was booked, but they had room at their sister ship, Forest Lodge. It looked just as nice online as Lamp Lighter Inn and was "in town" walking distance to shops and resturaurant. We stayed at the Garden Room with our 2 1/2 year old and it could not have been any more perfect! Peggy, one of the owners could not have been any more welcoming with children and pets. If I had my dog, I am not sure who would have liked her more, my 2 1/2 yr old son, me or my dog!!!! Peggy made balloons & played ball with my son daily.... We were only there for 2 nights and it could not have been any more perfect... Wine & cheese to breakie in the mornings down at Lamp Lighter was F.U.N. (fun).... my son could play with the toys and sonny (the house cat) without any worries. The fire pit was lovely and the guest we met were too..... Friendly, Friendly ,Friendly is the name of this place. They could not have made you feel any more welcome.......STAY STAY STAY is what I SAY!!! we will definitely be back....

Room Tip: I am sure any of there rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is adorable. We stayed in the Garrett Loft as the first stop on our honeymoon and we could not have picked a sweeter, more romantic inn in Carmel. Great location that's just far enough away from the crowds but literally a stone's throw from Ocean Avenue. The decor and finishing touches in the bathroom were wonderful. Only reason i can't give it 5 stars, is that the bed was really not very comfortable. It's on the hard but bouncy side. I guess I would say it felt a bit "cheap" compared to the rest of the room. The Garrett Loft is also a good private spot. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Garrett Loft is romantic and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Forest Lodge last week to celebrate our eleven year wedding anniversary. We loved every minute of our stay! Our cottage room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The attention to detail and service were above and beyond. The breakfast basket delivery to our door every morning was great. I'm a pretty big homebody so I'm generally ready to go home at the end of a vacation. I did not want to leave!! We're planning on making this our annual anniversary trip but I'm already planning another trip to take our kids. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Forest Lodge is a little farther away from the beach and a little more secluded and set back off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephiebee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hospitable, clean, light, roomy - good value. Just up the hill from all the shops - everything within walking distance. Relahtively quiet and out of the downtown bustle. Easily accessible to main road to Carmel Valley for wine tasting and to Monterey for whale watching. Will definitely return to stay with these properties.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJLFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 1st trip to the Forest Lodge inn, and we were amazed by the scenery and ambience of the quaint cottages that they had to offer. We stayed in the Garden room, with our 2 daughters, plenty of room for all. I am in a wheelchair, and they even went out of their way to make sure my chair fit in their cottage, unlike some hotels that don’t want to bother making any extra effort to make our stay comfortable. We were also surprised that they offered a complimentary decanter of Sherry, and provided an assortment of Cheeses and wines for an afternoon manager greetings at their sister location called the lamplighters Inn. Also, they delivered to our door each morning a basket of fruits, bagels and Muffins to start our day right! Such a short drive to point lobos from this lovely hotel, and a short walk to the beach and shops from your cottage door make this location the perfect place to stay and explore Carmel. I would highly recommend this location to anyone wanting to see all that Carmel has to offer, as you start on the edge of town at this hotel, and can easily see all the sites of Carmel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I took some out of town guest to Baja last night and I was so impressed with the service, our waiter and the manager( Chris) were AWESOME. Thank you for great service and the food was great. I had SHRIMP FAJITA and it was DELICIOUS! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Property: Forest Lodge
Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing