We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dali Suite at Forest Lodge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Lodge
Blackpool. Lancashire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Dali Suite at Forest Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Dali Suite at Forest Lodge. The photographs on the web site are for the lamplighter inn so we were disappointed to find that the layout was totally different. Parking was a bit tight - but there was enough space for the number of rooms. The earlier you got back the better space you got. It was all uphill or downhill. Our rooms consisted of the downstaits of one of the cottages. French windows led into the main lounge which was large. There was a small kitchinette which comprised of a fridge, sink, microwave and a coffee maker. There was no cutlery - not even a single tea spoon. No plates or kitchen tools except for a broker corkscrew. Just as well we were organised and had our own. There was a complementary decanter of sherry which seemed oddly out of place. The sofa bed in the lounge was huge and so heavu that it needed quite some muscle power to open it. The bedroom contained a bed, TV and drawers and was adequate and this too had french windows leading on to a small veranda with a chair. Due to the hilly nature of the place the front door was Down steps and the back doo was up steps!!!!!!!!! The bathroom was large and well equipped. Our visit was spoiled by noisy tenants upstairs with noisy children who were up and about at the crack of dawn.. We did complain but we were simply told that they couldn't do anything about it. Complementary breakfast was offered at the Lamplighter Inn (or could be delivered if requested in advance) however the two premises were at opposite end of Carmel and so although we asked for breakfast to be delivered it was only done on one day - the other 2 days we didn't get anything. I would not stay here again and I certainy would recomend tyhat if you want to stay at the Dali suite then make sure it is not in school holidays. I am sure that the whole place would be much more pleasant then.

Room Tip: Don't go in school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAROLE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

First, the staff are amazing!! They are so welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Ocean Avenue room for 4 days for our Carmel wedding. I LOVE this room. Beautiful. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels and English muffin. (the eggs are very fresh...which makes a hard boiled egg harder to crack, but not complaining. I prefer fresh!) we picked up a bonfire kit which they sell in the main office. We had a large group of people so they gave us plenty of extra chairs. I recommend getting the kit, the fire starter they have works wonders and they've already thought of everything. More about the room. Spacious, clean, very well decorated. The fire place works wonderfully. I love the bathroom. Only downside were the noisy drunken neighbors in the Garden room. But that happens anywhere. My husband finally started applauding and they shut up. It was kind of funny! There is a church across the street, so church bells on Sunday, which I love! (not so loud as to be unpleasant.) within walking distance of everything. A little trek to the beach, so wear good shoes. One of the BEST places to stay in Carmel. On check out, the staff asked us to stay at the Lamplighter property next time so that they could see us more on our next stay! (Forest Lodge property is away from the office site). They were seriously so nice and friendly. They have a wine and cheese hour as well, but we skipped it because we had so many wedding events. But next time we will check it out. Can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

A perfect little personal cottage with stone fireplace within a block of Carmel shops and restaurants. Perfection. Breakfast is served around the fire pit at the sister hotel down the street - the owners / management were greeting their guests like they were old friends. Turns out - most were since they apparently have so many repeat customers. Truly a magical little oasis in an already heavenly hamlet.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms or cottages here - they are all unique and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shipcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We wanted to visit Carmel early for the Memorial Day weekend and we were very fortunate to find a very nice suite "The Dali" at Forest Lodge (a Lamplighter property). The reservationist Gabrielle was more than helpful with our reservation and greeted us with a warm and welcome smile when we arrived. She also provided us with a great place for dinner (Vesuvio...Italian excellent) and suggested several shops to visit. The suite has an oversized fireplace, wood floors and a sofa so comfy we both took a nap on when we arrived.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms in on this property is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We initially booked a stay at Lamp Lighter but were upgraded for our anniversary to Forest Lodge with a larger and more private room. The room was very nice and well appointed and we enjoyed the fireplace. The bathroom was large and there was another twin bed off to a side in case it is needed. Breakfast was delivered in the morning and was much better tasting for a continental breakfast than I've had at other places. We really enjoyed our stay and that staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Statikfeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

My family( which consists of my husband, myself and our 14y/o Golden Retriever) stayed at this cute property during a business trip/mini getaway late march. We had the Garret loft which we absolutely loved. The room was charming and quite big. It was tastefully decorated and new remodeled in a shabby chic/french country style. The beautiful bathroom was huge with a nice big soaking tub. The king bed was comfy! It is in a great location at the beginning of town... A bit of a walk to the beach (we drove, but only because our senior dog needed to conserve energy for ball chasing at the beach)!!!! The owners were lovely people and even gave our dog a toy as a souvenir :) ! We will definitely return and tell our friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbubeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I took my mother to Carmel and we absolutely loved this lodge. The location was wonderful, everyone was really nice when we grabbed breakfast at the Lamplighter and we were able to take advantage of the generous offer to go whale watching since we stayed for three nights. The room was very clean and lovely. The owners provided Sherry, fresh water and extra pillows. The bathroom is very large and wonderful. This is the perfect room to stay in for 3-4 people because there is complete privacy between the room and living room with the pullout sofa. There are also separate doors from each room into the bathroom, which is great!

The only complaints that we would have is that the beds are a bit uncomfortable... We woke up sore but the best thing about Carmel is that you can walk it off before having a fantastic dinner.

Room Tip: There is noise upstairs from the fan and people walking around so it may be difficult to sleep somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM26743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.0 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Property: Forest Lodge
Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing