We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go early, go often!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette Bakery and Cafe

Lafayette Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Go early, go often!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place is a bit hard to find (the Barnyard complex is more like a maze), but it's well worth the hunt -- an authentic French bakery, run by actual French people, with delicious croissants, pastries and bread. Everything was fabulous, but the highlight was a small baguette sandwich I got to go -- had I known the bread would be that amazing, I would've bought as much as I could carry! My only regret is that we didn't have the time to stop here until we were on our way to the airport, so we only got to go there once.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravenclaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Our golf caddie told us about this bakery and when we visited it we were delighted! The building is 90% an operational French bakery with 10% of the building being an area to sit. We ate breakfast twice while visiting and everything we ate was wonderful! My favorite - the almond croissants. I will be stopping before we leave to buy bread to take home!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DO NOT miss this place! In the Barnyard shopping area of Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the real deal. The pastries are amazing. I had a Bichon with lemon and raspberry inside. I have never seen this item in any bakery whether in U.S. or France. The baguette was still warm when I bought it. It was fantastic even the next day. Find it and you will become a regular!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic French baking with the accent included!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

So much to choose from! They have sweet and beautiful baked goods (chocolate croissant is amazing) and savory breakfast items and beautiful sandwiches. There can be a line but it moves quickly. Lovely

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

When you go inside of this bakery be careful!!! Chances are that you don't want to leave! It is better than going to PARIS! WOW would be the only world coming from you after trying anything from this place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elijunsali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafayette Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Lafayette Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing