We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect ending to a perfect day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a perfect day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We joined dear friends for our final dinner in Carmel. What a good choice we made out of the many establishments in Carmel! We had reservations and were seated promptly. Our server was Nicole and there are not enough superlatives to describe her friendliness, helpfulness, and recommendations. The food was excellent. Our friends had the filet and raved, my husband had prawns which he enjoyed and I loved the seafood Cobb salad. We were not going to have dessert until we saw the dessert menu!! YUM! Nicole saw that I received raspberry sauce over my homemade vanilla ice cream!! Now THAT is a way to end a meal! Will most definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Judy,

I'm thrilled to hear we were the perfect ending to a perfect day! I'll be sure to let Nicole know you appreciated her exceptionally warm and helpful service. I hope to see you again the next time you're craving seafood!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    312
    139
    62
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were drawn here by the crowds and promise of fresh seafood. Our food wasn't bad, but it was mediocre. My tuna was nicely seared, but the texture was flabby and the accompanying noodle cake seemed to be made up of bits of leftover pasta of different shapes. My husband's seafood pasta was ok, but he found it bland. Dinner service is very fast and we were out of there in well under an hour. We would not return - there are much better choices in Carmel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Casual, nice folks, good choice for quality fish centric dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did make a reservation but they have an overflow space that is more spartan that you can probably walk in an get seated. It was worth the planning as we got a good table at 7:40 p.m. and were helped by one of the on site pro's, Victoria. I would highly recommend her. She is sharp, helpful and funny. We only got chowder ( really flavorful and not salty) and some salads the Cobb and Crab Louie but they were all very well done and filling. We saw the entrees, they looked OK but with an average price of $ 25 or more- it was more than we wanted. I think their sides are really enough unless you are starving. Get some oysters, calamari and soup or salad and you are set.They have a fine dessert menu as well which we saw but did not partake. Wine list was adequate for the menu. I'd go back and recommend this to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'll be sure to let Victoria know you appreciated her sharp and helpful service. The next time you visit, feel free to split an entree that catches your eye. Our entrees are generously portioned with fresh, high quality seafood. Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seafood restaurant that actually sells seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal. Family friendly with one of the best selections I have seen for children. Extensive raw bar and fish menu in different styles. We had 12 oysters to share followed by moules and calamari with a side salad. We weren't that hungry but needed a good snack. This is the sort of restaurant I could live in. Portion size seems to be more European than American which was great. Staff were attentive and good with the children. Fast, prompt and efficient service. Would highly recommend for seafood lovers and would put it up against any seafood restaurant anywhere without the pomp!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Nick,

I'm so glad to hear you really enjoyed your meal. Knowing that "this is the sort of restaurant you could live in" is the best compliment. It's our goal to serve fresh seafood in a casual, inviting atmosphere. Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small, lively restaurant in the heart of Carmel. Interesting menu with a lot of options, sure to please almost anyone. Scampi with risotto was amazing, the calamari steak was very good, the scallops with white beans was an unexpected (but delicious) combination. Wine prices reasonable, atmosphere pleasant and lively, service was very good. Will definitely return

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3SBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm happy to hear you thought the scampi with risotto was amazing! It's our goal to create delicious dishes composed with unique and surprising combinations of ingredients. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing