We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great staff, good food, very dog-friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great staff, good food, very dog-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm surprised by the all the negative reviews because our experience at Flaherty's was rather positive.

We made a reservation on OpenTable.com for a table outside with our dog. The hostess greeted us immediately when she saw us and took us to our table. She had a fresh bowl of water and treats on hand for our pup too! Overall, the staff was kind and attentive and the ambiance was casual and comfortable.

The food was good. Nothing to write home about, but no complaints either. The Bloody Mary is spicy and strong; the clam chowder is different but tasty; and the seafood carbonara pasta is delicious and very filling.

Bonus -- If you eat at any sister restaurants like Village Corner, Portabella, or Anton and Michel's, you get a 15% off coupon to use next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review! It was our pleasure to host you and your pup, and I'm happy you enjoyed yourselves. I'll share this with the whole team. Feel free to stop by anytime!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    312
    139
    62
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Terrible seating arrangements (required to sit with strangers), poor service, cranky waitress (when you could find her!), loud, expensive, small portions...need I say more

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
This is certainly not the experience we set out to create for our customers, Barrie. We're surprised to hear you felt like you were treated to poor service. We love our wait staff team and they often go above and beyond for our customers. We do have about 50 private seats in our restaurant along with a one long family table which we set up dividers for to divide up the parties. Generally, people are comfortable sitting in this type of setting.


Best,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the B&B. We had reservations but were still placed back by the kitchen. Our server was not familiar with the menu - didn't even tell us the specials. The fish and chips had more fried batter than fish. In the middle of summer they served winter root vegetables. The atmosphere was ok and it seemed clean, but the experience was overall disappointing. With so many other choices in the area we will not go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mauibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food; but, NOISY!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have enjoyed lunch many times at Flaherty's. This was the first time in the main dining room. The seafood was fresh and delicious; but, due to hard floors, crowed tables; and, large groups it was too noisy to enjoy. Stick to lunch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Back to one of our old favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Back again for my favorite Cioppino. As East Coast residents we look forward to our annual visit with our son and his wife who live in San Jose. That's also an excuse for me to get to wine country and as my wife loves Carmel an excuse for us to spend time there too. Flaherty's is easily one of my top 2 seafood places in places in CA, the other being Las Brisas in Laguna Beach. But Flaherty's is special - a small and intimate place, one room for lunch and another across the way for dinner. Great service at both with always great sourdough bread and an excellent Monterey winelist. If in for lunch the 2 clam chowders are excellent if I'm not getting Cioppino. Don't miss the artichoke. If not getting the Cioppino the fresh catches are always excellent, my wife's usual favorite is the Sand Dabs. Flaherty's was the first place I knew to have a seafood sustainability program when they educated us - it was at least a decade ago, a practice which they adhere to today so hopefully our grandkids can enjoy some of the same.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It's been a true joy to welcome you both into our restaurant over the years, George. Thank you for taking the time to speak about your many meals with us and the Cioppino that always keeps you coming back for more. We can't wait to welcome you and your wife in again soon and be sure to remind us of your review during your next meal! I'd love to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing