We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
On 6th Between San Carlos & Dolores, Carmel 93921, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After getting into Carmel at dusk we were looking for some nice local food Dinner was delicous and the service was very good. Really nice variety from which to choose. The Salmon and Tuna Tartare was delicious though perhaps the aioli was a little overkill. My dinner companion had the seafood stew and I had the Sand Dabs, which is a mild local fish. The atmosphere was really nice, yet casual and it was friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're happy to know you were able to enjoy a casual, relaxed dinner with us, Carlie. Thanks for the tip about the aioli—it's something our kitchen can consider! We appreciate the great review and hope to dine with you again soon.

Until next time,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was reasonably priced considering the location, my husband ordered a half dozen Oysters on the half shell and really enjoyed them. He also ordered the fish and chips which he said were really good, but the malt vinegar they give on the side to flavor it was weak tasting. I had the coconut shrimp and they were really good. Everyone else in our party enjoyed their meals also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Happy to hear it! We love hearing about a happy meal shared with us, and can't wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped by for a quick bite to carry us through to dinner. Friendly staff, prompt service and good food. We appreciated that even though we just had an appetizer we were treated courteous and enjoyed some large prawns.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TWB2006SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed stopping in with us! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Carmel!

Sincerely,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Came in for lunch while in town. My husband and I were recommended to this place by our front desk. Even though they were busy for lunch on a Saturday as should be expected being a tourist town and a weekend; staff was able to accommodate us a seat at the bar. There we enjoyed a full meal just as if we had had a table. Felt like having a light drink with our meal and ended up ordering something from their full bar. Next time in town, we'll sure come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you for the kind words, and hopefully we'll be seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family has been going to Flaherty's since the mid 1980's. We look forward to going for lunch and dinner at least once when visiting the Monterey Peninsula. Unfortunately lunch last week was a disappointment. Service is uneven and inconsistent. Some of the silverware, wrapped in a napkin, was dirty. The Manhattan clam chowder was very good. The fish and chips had problems with the breading & the calamari appetizers were half the portion they use to be with very heavy breading. All around a disappointment. Unlikely we will be returning in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank montereydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing