We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flaherty's....it has no peer”

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Carmel Valley, California
2 reviews
“Flaherty's....it has no peer”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A fish restaurant.....all fresh. Visited Flaherty's for dinner, an extremely fine dining for a fish house. Wherever I have a fish dinner I can usually sense the aroma of fish in the air, on my hands, but not at Flaherty's. This restaurant is so experienced in handling fish products that is always a delight to go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, OWNER at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
BG,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. You're right, we are all about fresh, delicious fish! Thanks again for all your kind words and your recommendation. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    350
    154
    72
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood in Carmel off the main street”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

While we enjoy Aw Shucks on Ocean, when we want a quieter experience, we eat at Flaherty's. We like the table at the window, near the bar.
Our favorite thing here is the fresh oysters, but the other items have equally fresh and delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKGSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi KKGSB,

Thanks for sharing. I'm happy we've been a good spot when you're wanting a quieter experience but still want fresh seafood. You can never go wrong with some oysters on the half shell! I appreciate your kind words and hope you'll come see us again soon.

Take care,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flaherty's dining experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

4 of us enjoyed lunch at Flaherty's on 3/8. Great experience. Good food . Very good service. Definitely would recommend to anyone traveling to Carmel. Good food choices on the menu. We were all very pleased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Beverly,

Thanks for reviewing us. I'm glad your group enjoyed dining with us on Friday! Good food is what we're all about. I appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll join us again the next time you're in town.

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I will never go Here”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband booked this restaurant on open table as a surprise dinner for my birthday. Being Irish and loving seafood he thought it would be the ideal present. He followed up on the booking with a call to check that everything was suitable for our daughter who has a very severe peanut allergy. The lady he spoke to got very irate when he asked her the standard questions regarding allergies (the same ones we ask every restaurant..can you cater for peanut allergy?). She got so mad at him for making simple inquiries that after she hung up she cancelled our booking on Open Table! We couldn't believe it. We swore never to set foot in the restaurant and to make sure all our visitors did likewise. Unbelievable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Flaherty's”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had dinner here and loved it. Several of the shopkeepers recommended it, and taking Rachel Ray's advice, we listened to the locals and were not disappointed. Food and service were excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Marketing Agency at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Frank,

I'm happy to see you enjoyed dining with us! It's a very nice compliment to know we were recommended by some of the shopkeepers you talked to. Excellent food and service is exactly what we aim for. I hope you'll join us again the next time you're in town.

Cheers,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing