We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate here 3 times so we must have liked it !”

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We ate here 3 times so we must have liked it !”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What drew us was all the soups - Chowder, Cioppino, Lobster Bisque, Oyster Stew. We enjoyed every meal and the service was terrific. The Oyster stew was awesome, huge whole oysters in a wonderful creamy base. Also had Cioppino the first night and it was terrific. I have had Cioppino and Bar Americain in NYC, Phil's Seafood Market in Moss Landing (Throwdown winner), and here, and what I have learned is - Cioppino is Cioppino. Haven't had a bad one yet. Chock full of clams, shrimp, fish, etc. My wife loved her Fish and Chips and Lobster Bisque. The only pass I would advise is the lobster chili - it tastes like - chili. The lobster is there, but lost in the chili. If you want lobster, order some other preparation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    347
    154
    72
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A return to excellence”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I have been dining at Flaherty's durring our twice yearly visits to Carmel for the past 28 years. While we have been more that pleased with the great food and service, we felt that our last few visits were not up to par. We gave a less than great review and were contacted by Ken, the owner. Ken is a very gracious and personable man who takes a keen interest in his customers. He invited us to come back and try Flaherty's again. We dined there Friday evening, July 27th and had a great dining experience. We felt like the old Flaherty's was back. I had a Hallibut steak coated with crushed cashews that was simply delicious. Our server was charming and efficient and added to our positive experience. Any problems we may have encountered in the past were clearly overcome and we are pleased to look forward to many great meals there in the future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rider/Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“MotoGP week in Carmel”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Love the sand dabs at Flaherty's We go to Carmel once a year and always include dinner there one night. We met a charming couple this year at the nearby table and were having great conversation. Seeing that, when my husband and I hesitated on ordering another glass of wine, she suggested splitting a\ glass. I really appreciated that - and the rest of the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjj89511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very Good!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I are locals and we never went to Flaherty's! We decided to try it. We are so happy we did, it is a excellant place to eat.He had crab & garlic ravioli it was so good. My bowl of clam chowder was the best I ever had. We will be back for sure , Kayla was our waitress and Anastasia was our hostess and they are AWESOME! P.S. Get the Key Lime Pie for dessert EXCELLANT!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh seafood”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

On our last night in Carmel, we tried Flaherty's on a recommendation from our innkeeper. We weren't disappointed. We had reservations and arrived about 20 min early, but only had to wait a few minutes for an available table. Our waitress even switched all our stuff over to a bigger table next to ours when it opened up.

The Moscato was delicious (we bought a bottle to take with us as well) and I really enjoyed my fresh salmon. Best seafood on our California trip. My husband said his halibut was excellent.

And oh my, the dessert! We took it to-go and ate it later by the fire at our inn and it was the most delicious chocolate cake with homemade whipped cream I've ever had! They served it with strawberries too.

The restaurant was definitely crowded and a bit noisy, but the service and food were great, so we'd definitely return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeJessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing