We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Ranked #38 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best eggplant I've ever had! Hot and sour soup was really good too. Place is very small and kind of a hole in the wall, but don't let that scare you away. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    21
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't Miss!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Never a disappointment. Good to eat in or even better to take out!! Always fun to learn of different dishes to try besides the tried and true.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Divadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
256 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Get It To Go!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We lived in Carmel for most of a year in 2006 and got Tommy's several times. So on a visit last week, we decided to get food to go and return to our hotel for a late dinner. Although we've eaten there, the place is really cramped. Also, their to go service is really exceptional. as you wait outside, you can see them preparing your food.

The quality is fresh and good tasting. It's a big menu too. Nothing exceptional compared to San Francisco but it fills a void in Carmel and the Peninsula in general for quality Asian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food fine, cramped restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

the waiter serving us was spot on, polite, professional and not at all pushy but happy to help with the menu. food was fine too, i'm marking it down as the restaurant itself was very cramped, there were a lot of "tables for two" in while we were there and the tables were less than an inch apart, for some people i appreciate this will be part of the places charm but it's not to my taste!

Helpful?
Thank cloggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, slow, but well worth the wait”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We tried to order food to go over the phone on Labor Day weekend but no one answered and we thought they might be closed for the holiday, nope just crowded. The restaurant is tiny and some knuckleheads thought it would be a good idea to bring their group of 17 to the small restaurant. It took over an hour to receive our to go order but it was awesome. The Singapore Noodles green bean chicken were amazing.

I highly recommend it, but be considerate and don't bring your posse as the small dining area and kitchen can't handle the volume.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing