We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“food fine, cramped restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Ranked #48 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food fine, cramped restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

the waiter serving us was spot on, polite, professional and not at all pushy but happy to help with the menu. food was fine too, i'm marking it down as the restaurant itself was very cramped, there were a lot of "tables for two" in while we were there and the tables were less than an inch apart, for some people i appreciate this will be part of the places charm but it's not to my taste!

Helpful?
Thank cloggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    76
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small, slow, but well worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We tried to order food to go over the phone on Labor Day weekend but no one answered and we thought they might be closed for the holiday, nope just crowded. The restaurant is tiny and some knuckleheads thought it would be a good idea to bring their group of 17 to the small restaurant. It took over an hour to receive our to go order but it was awesome. The Singapore Noodles green bean chicken were amazing.

I highly recommend it, but be considerate and don't bring your posse as the small dining area and kitchen can't handle the volume.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food I crave once I'm back home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Chinese food. The best eggplant dish ever! Evil Prince Shrimp anyone? We order it to eat there and we get an extra order to take home for the next day! Not a large restaurant but a great authentic one. We are always happy with everything we get. This place is back in a little cubby and it's definitely worth finding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Not Pet Friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to Carmel since it was rated as one of the most pet friendly cities..our hotel was wonderful. When researching
restaurants which are pet friendly. Tommy's Wok was one on the list..however when we arrived with our two lil poodles they said they could set us up with a table outside at the back door along with the trash and parking lot to Wells Fargo...needless to say we did not eat there nor will we recommend it to our friends.If you are not "REAL" pet friendly..then do not advertise that you are.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gletty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Less than sanitary conditions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have eaten at Tommy's Wok many times but we have never gone to the back door for carry-out. It was a real "eye opener". Swarms of flies hovered by the open door to the kitchen. Food littered the floor of this tiny kitchen. Another door off the patio revealed a woman sitting on a stool paring vegetables in less than sanitary conditions. Later in the evening one of our guests had to leave a theater performance because of "montezuma's revenge". Beware!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing