We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good meal but you'll have to wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Ranked #49 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good meal but you'll have to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on last night in Carmel. Did have to wait for a table -20 mins or so. Inside its tightly packed with tables and rather noisy. Wide variety of choice. Service is prompt but it seemed like it was a very much a fast food style service to get you in & get you out as fast as possible.
Food quality was good. Large portions are given so recommended sharing. A good Chinese restaurant -simple as really.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LNB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    18
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth Finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

By searching on this website, we found Tommy's Wok! This restaurant is hidden down a small side street near the Wells Fargo bank. It is busy but we put our name down at the door and only had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. The food was brilliant and portions on the generous side. My daughter ordered sweet and sour chicken Hong Kong style and declared it the best she has ever eaten. We ordered two bowls of soup for starters and they easily fed 4 of us. We had a lovely waiter and couldn't fault the service. Highly recommended but be prepared to wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
329 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“One of the best chinese meals I have had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You may have to wait to get into this small eatery, but, its well worth it. First a note to people from the UK, Normaly at a chinese you would order a starter, a main and a side portion of rice.
Dont do that here!
We were left with more than half of our food left over.
One of the biggest crimes I have ever commited was leaving half a plate of the most perfect butterflied prawns I have had in a long time.
I still feel sad thinking about it just now!
The special fried rice plates we ordered up as a side like wise was just too much.

I cannot recomend this place highly enough.
Inexpensive, good quality, well tasty (super tasty for my american cousins), Wish I could go there tonight

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_Toulose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This places tucked away down a small court but worth finding.

We were a group of 7 and started with 2 big bowls of soup which was very tasty. The princess prawns are amazing and the rice and chow mein are nice too.

Not so sure about the duck dish but that was personal choice.

It is only a small place so get in early unless you don't mind a wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RooActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in Carmel and found this restaurant through Yelp, I think. Not far off the main street, this small Chinese restaurant served up some excellent food. We had the sizzling rice soup- delicious and light, and the crispy Hunan fish. Not sure exactly what the latter dish was called on the menu but it was lightly fried pieces of fresh fish in a Hunan sauce. We all loved it. We had a short wait to get a table but the staff was very nice. The cost was very reasonable too, not what we expected to pay for dinner in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing