We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice find in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Ranked #49 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in Carmel and found this restaurant through Yelp, I think. Not far off the main street, this small Chinese restaurant served up some excellent food. We had the sizzling rice soup- delicious and light, and the crispy Hunan fish. Not sure exactly what the latter dish was called on the menu but it was lightly fried pieces of fresh fish in a Hunan sauce. We all loved it. We had a short wait to get a table but the staff was very nice. The cost was very reasonable too, not what we expected to pay for dinner in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    76
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Come early or be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here for an early dinner and loved the delicious food and ultra quick service. A few minutes after we sat down there were lots of people waiting for tables (they don't take reservations).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad for take out Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the egg rolls (yummy!) potstickers (good but a bit doughy on the inside) Mongolian beef & basil chicken to go. The food was fresh and the sauces were outstanding.

Lots of veggies in the basil chicken & good flavor. Hubby liked the Mongolian beef but it came back to visit him the next day with a bit of tummy trouble but that could be due to the fact he asked for it very spicy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostongurl209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in Carmel after going to Point Sur Lighthouse and were starved. We parked on the street and walked around a bit before seeing the restaurant. It was delicious! We both like spicy food, so I got the lunch portion of Orange Chicken and he got the lunch portion of Kung Pao Chicken--came with fried rice, lo mein noodles, and the chicken. The Orange Chicken was delicious!! Much more flavorful than the Kung Pao. It is so good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank volvol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best asian food in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The only bad thing is that it is always very busy. The food, the prices, the service are phenomenal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing