We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Ranked #46 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A trip to Carmel is not complete unless you have a meal at Tommy's Wok. Tucked away among the shops and a bank is one of the best Asian food restaurants I've ever come across. Hot and spicy eggplant . . . . heavenly. If you only try one thing, it's that. Also a must is the walnut shrimp. The restaurant should be called "Wonders in a Wok". It gets very busy, but worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    78
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great restaurant and high quality, secret for take out is to order ahead and go to the backdoor next to Wells Fargo bank....quick in and out! Consistently love the food form this place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food on the Monterey Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

OK, the place is loud and you can't hear yourself think...but the food is so fabulous, you soon forget the noise. No other Chinese restaurant even comes close to the quality of the food here, and the prices are very, very reasonable. Take out is available too...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trace43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Have been several times in last few months. Food is plentiful and fresh. Perfectly seasoned and cooked just right. Small dining room that can get noisy, but everyone always seems pleased with their food.

Helpful?
Thank Annie6411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We always get great take out here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have never eaten at the restaurant but we get take out from here A LOT!! It's great Chinese food. For instance, I get the chicken fried rice and its always made with all white breast meat. We ordered here Dec 26. They told us it was an hour wait before we ordered and when my husband went to go get it he said it was CRAZY busy but ran smoothly picking up orders and it was on time, hot AND our special requests were PERFECT!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing