We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good California Clam Chowder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Market

California Market
Reserve with OpenTable
California Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sutherlin, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good California Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Amazing floral landscaping and breathtaking vies form the HIGHLANDS INN!
Nice choice of lunch items including good clam chowder and cobb salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_Snyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    57
    18
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go for the View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice patio with killer views. The food was "Hyatt good" but not particularly exciting. We had salads and my Cobb was okay but I've had many that have been better and the same could be said about the ahi tuna salad. It is a nice place to sit and gaze at the view though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning views for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A friend who lives in Carmel recommended we come here for the views. We made a reservations through Open Table for 1:30, but they were able to seat us when we arrived an hour early after spending the morning hiking at Point Lobos.

Although the coast was foggy, the deck was bathed in sunlight and we were grateful for the market umbrellas that shielded us from the direct sun. We were seated right next to the railing, and were able to enjoy spectacular views as the fog began to lift.

Our waiter, Tony, was a consummate professional with an easy-going yet efficient demeanor, and never made us feel rushed during our leisurely meal. We had a http://restaurant.com certificate which he graciously accepted upon taking our order, and proceeded to provide us with excellent service and recommendations. (On a side note, occasionally restaurants can make you feel like http://restaurant.com certificates are an imposition for them, and I was so happy to see this was not the case.)

The only nuisances were a couple of pesky seagulls who landed on the railing next to us, but were easily shooed away with the wave of a hand. One of the servers told us that the seagulls are particularly fond of butter, and will actually grab ramekins off of the tables and fly them over to a nearby roof so they can eat their butter undisturbed. The ladies behind us were feeding the seagulls, which of course only exacerbates the problem. (The servers were too polite to ask them to stop, but I did think a few well-placed signs might help educate the uninformed!)

This was but a minor blip in an otherwise incredible experience, however.

We both had the special crab cake/avocado/tomato/bacon sandwiches served on a brioche-type of bread they bake on site, served with fries, green salad or a little of each. The sandwiches were delicious, incredibly rich and filling.

We were so full from the sandwiches, but we hated to leave. We were reluctantly about to pay our bill, when I spotted an amazing-looking dessert on the next table, profiteroles with espresso ice cream, drizzled with fudge and caramel sauces and topped with shaved chocolate with a side of fresh whipped cream. It had to be one of the best desserts I have ever had, and was the perfect ending to a glorious meal overlooking Carmel Bay.

We love to come to the Monterey peninsula, and will be sure to return to the California Marketplace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jgotteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Tropical View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This lovely restaurant looked down on the lush green landscape and extended out to the ocean. The portobello burgers were delicious. Because we are vegans, the chef fixed it without the mayo and cheese. We did not eat any other food there as we had a kitchen and ate elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juvyjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy with amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had lunch on the patio with breath taking views of the coastline and breakfast inside with amazing views of the coastline! All good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rondoffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Market also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to California Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing