We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saturday night”

Baja Cantina & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Baja Cantina & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Valley Greens Drive
Transit: Monterey-Salinas Transit stops at Valley Hills Center.
Monterey, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“saturday night”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Make sure to get reservations.... most of my friends had the enchiladas ("good") - I had the chicken fajitas ("good") - they forgot the tortillas and brought them near the end of the meal. We were sitting in the bar area which was cold - they keep the front door open - so were never took off our sweaters. Its probably great in the summer at lunch.
We had "patron" margaritas and they were "great"!! My friend has been there for breakfast and really likes the huevos rancheros - maybe we will try that next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    82
    34
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nothing special”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

nothing to write home about. it is a regular hole in the wall place. ok service. food was your basic menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have to come with kids”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

When we first started coming here 10 years ago it was to visit my parents. This was the go-to place because of the cool cars they serve the kids food in. Now that they are older they just like going to a place where we can all sit outside. Good carnitas tacos, my parents always get the Monterey Bay quesadilla. Good beer selection, cute atmosphere inside and the outside dining area with the fire pit is nice. Only issue is the birds.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good food in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Baja Cantina has an interesting collection of old automotive accessories, signs, etc., and is located next to the Quail Lodge and golf course, with an outside area suitable for dining on a nice day. The food is a bit heavy and unexceptional, but good. I liked the guacamole and chips.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank roadtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“across the street from lodge”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This restaurant is across the street from Quail Lodge. Excellent, fast, service; neat decor; great lobster rellenos and mole' dishes. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuestaroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Cantina & Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Baja Cantina & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing