We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Breakfast”
Review of Cottage Restaurant

Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Yuba City, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wife and I ate breakfast there and it is very nice little restaurant. Not all that expensive and the food is great. This place also fills fairly quickly so you may have to wait in line to eat. A lot of the locals visit here for coffee and breakfast. If you want a great tasting breakfast that is fairly inexpensive this is the place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeithYubaCity_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    67
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass valley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place for breakfast! Really nice staff and yummy Eggs Benedict! It's a cute tiny cottage. Very cozy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hashbrowns. Friendly staff,great service.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Cottage for breakfast. The hashbrowns were delicious as always. The servers are friendly and spot on! I really love the charming atmosphere. Will return again for great breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Carmel Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in at the Cottage for breakfast/lunch on our last day in Carmel. Charming, simple décor. The menu was quite extensive and hard for anyone not to find something to like. We decided on breakfast with a few interesting sides. I had eggs with "real" English Bangers...took me back to real English country breakfast...well cooked and flavorful. My wife had eggs as well and ordered Panetone French toast which had a wonderfully unique flavor and texture. I also spotted something I could not resist to try....Artichoke soup. It was absolutely wonderful! The texture and the flavor was really indescribable....a real winner. If you want a delicious morning/midday meal, the Cottage is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and sweet”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The cottage restaurant is one of the most fantastic places for breakfast in Carmel. It's small, quaint and sweet. The food is superb, healthy and cooked to perfection. This is the only restaurant I have found where they know what poached eggs are, it's the little things that count. My favorite is the two egg breakfast with fresh fruit and raisin toast..yummy. I have brought family and friends here and everyone loves it. After having a delightful breakfast where the waiter/waitresses can't do enough, you get the bill...that's in icing on the cake! It's so reasonable. There is no heirs or graces here..it's like sitting in your Nonnas (grandmother's), getting excellent food, a good easy going chat and heading off happy to start the day. I love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing