We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good fondue and nice central valley wine at a fair price. We had a fun night here.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugano Swiss Bistro

Lugano Swiss Bistro
Ranked #74 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rancho Boulevard
honeoye falls
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good fondue and nice central valley wine at a fair price. We had a fun night here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The cheese fondue was plenty for two to share. Lots of veggies and bread for dipping. The onion soup was very good. The owner came around to each table and checked on all the diners. Great touch. We would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topiaryflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent onion soup and fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you like good onion soup and fondue this is the place.Better be hungry because the portions are large.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not too good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall disappointing, although not awful. Good onion soup. TINY appetizer portion of Raclette (for $13.50) and poorly presented. Three mixed fingerling potatoes served cut up on a plate with just barely warm congealed (not hot and "melty" as it should be) cheese and four tiny (but good) gherkins. Schnitzel was ordinary, although the red cabbage with it was tasty, good and fresh. Service was poor. Overpriced and tacky. Not going back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rare2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Swiss Onion Soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for a late lunch on a Thursday afternoon. I had the Swiss Onion soup which was very good. Lots of gooey cheese over a nicely spiced broth. For an entrée I had the chicken and penne pasta. It was alright but the sauce was a little too thin. My father had the Schnitzle and really enjoyed it. The ambiance is very quaint, like a little lodge in the Alps. And the service was very good and friendly. They really made us feel welcome. I look forward to going there again to try their meat and cheese fondues.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid51061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were dying for Fondue and this was the place to go. While it was tough to find, we really loved our meal. We did the 4 fixed pieces. As hardy eaters, we were comfortably full when we left. The salad was key, a nice light start. The cheese fondue was a classic, delicious with full flavor. I was surprised that we had to actually cook the meat ourselves in the broth but it turned out to be a really great experience. When finished with that, the final chocolate fondue was amazing. Rich, full-flavored of deep cocco. WOW! The waitress, Wanda, did a great job clearing off our table and making sure we were OK. She was great at trying to upsell wine/coffee although it did become a bit much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bubbyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugano Swiss Bistro also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Lugano Swiss Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing