We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Delicious Meal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita Ristorante

La Dolce Vita Ristorante
Ranked #89 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Delicious Meal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

First, this restaurant has moved to a new location - on 5th Avenue, across from the Carmel post office. I had been to the former location several times and always found the food to be delicious and the service excellent. In this regard, nothing has changed. We recently visited the new location with out-of-town friends, who happen to love Italian food. They both ordered the veal chop and loved it. I ordered the seafood pasta, which was generous and served with all fresh seafood, very tasty. The manager, Miguel, is very eager to please and is trying to build business in the new location. So, please do go - you won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    6
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The only thing gourmet was the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one night in Carmel-by-the-Sea, a beautiful area that we plan to return to. My husband wanted pizza and, while going thru a stack of menus at our B&B, came across La Dolce Vita which featured “gourmet pizza”. After stumbling around in the dark, and getting redirected after a stop at a gallery, we finally found the restaurant. Our first clue should have been that there was only one other couple in the restaurant. We were tired and hungry, so we ordered a pizza to share. The pizza crust was burned around the edges, toppings were sparse and the sauce was bland. The only thing gourmet about the pizza was the price. Table service was slow and the waiter never checked back with us or refilled our water glasses. I would not return or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We love dinning here, when in Carmel. My favorite part of their menu are the appetizers... incredible! Skip dessert and save room for them!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Italian Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Found this restaurant across from the post office. At lunchtime, we were surprised there wasn't a crowd. Andrea Bocelli was calling me in! great music. First came lightly toasted bread with sundried tomato dip. Delicious. Then house salad, which was carefully made. A chicken, Gorgonzola and mozzarella pizza was perfectly cooked. I had Bolla Chianti, perfect match. Very nice service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the flavor?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This looks like a nice little restaurant. It was right around the corner from my hotel. The staff was nice. I had a spinach salad and bruschetta. The salad consisted of a pile of spinach, gorgonzola, and dressing. The bruschetta was a pile of tomatos on bread. I expected a little more spice and flavor. I'm not sure why I had to wait 15-20 minutes for this since it could be thrown together in about 30 seconds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita Ristorante also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Dolce Vita Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing