We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint lil' breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Em Le's - CLOSED

Em Le's
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint lil' breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were told that this would be the most "unusual" breakfast in Carmel & to get the famous French Toast. However when we saw it on another table we realized it was too large & rich looking for us & they don't do half orders. So we got an omelet & a waffle. It was good and the staff is friendly & the lil' cottage is quaint but next time we will try From Scratch as we generally like a healthier breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    26
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You must take time to eat at Em Le's restaurant when in Carmel. The food is the best and you are sure to go back! Be sure to try to Famous French Toast! it is beyond deliciousness! Host and hostess were friendly and attentive. A pleasure to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank primereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love their breakfast here. The owner is friendly and the food is fresh and the presentation is great. Excellent coffee too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Maybe breakfast is Em Le's thing, but don't bother with lunch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Of all the great places to go for a nice lunch out, Em Le's is not the place. I went with a friend for lunch...both of us local girls, and thought we would give this place a try. So sorry we did. I ordered the salmon salad. With all the great local home grown tomatoes that can be had, I ended up with a hard, tasteless tomato on my place....nicely sliced, but oh so not good! The salmon was only so so, and the complete salad was mediocre at best. Like I said....if you are looking for a great lunch out, there are way to many great places to choose from. This is not the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Locals don't mind the mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Never again...omg. needs a MAJOR overhaul, and a new cook! Chairs are hard and a bit slimy. The booth.....forget it!
the food....pushed it around. The salmon and salad, what could go wrong right? yuk.
Maybe breakfast would be ok....maybe, But I'll never know.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittyrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em Le's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing